Hazuan shatters the meet record


IPOH: National long jumper Mohd Hazuan Zainal Abidin, back from his training stint in Germany last month, hogged the limelight at the Perak Open Athletics Championships at the Perak Stadium here yesterday. 

Representing MAAU, Hazuan leapt to a new meet record of 7.51m. The old record of 7.31m was set by Hanafiah Nasir in 1989. 

However, Hazuan’s effort was far below his personal best of 7.55m achieved while training in Germany. This distance is also the qualifying mark for the Vietnam SEA Games in December. 

Nevertheless, his effort did not go unrewarded as it won him the Best Male Athlete award. 

National teammate Mohd Shahrul Amri Suhaimi, who has already qualified for SEA Games, finished second with a 7.39m jump while Pahang’s Mustapha Nizam took third spot on 6.77m. 

The other meet record of the day came in the decathlon, won by Azizul Azam of Kinta who amassed a total of 4,887 points. S. Krishnan was the previous holder with 4,682 points set last year. 

National high jumper Wong Boon Syian also came into the picture when she equalled the meet record of 1.65m set 14 years ago by Nor Aishah Ismail. 

The Pekan Nanas-born Boon Syian’s personal best is 1.70m, which she recorded en route to the Under-15 gold medal in the MSSM meet in May, 

And for her record-equalling effort, Boon Syian walked away with the Best Female athlete award. 

Maybank’s Shukri Mat Layis, who won the bronze in the 100m sprint on Saturday, did better in the longer 200m when a late burst of speed saw him narrowly winning the gold medal with a 23.00 performance. 

Mohd Azmi Hassan of Federal Territory and Mohd Alif Raslan of Bertam SC finished second and third on 23.1 and 23.1 respectively. 


  • MEN 

    200m: Shukri Mat Layis (Maybank) 23.0, 2. Mohd Azmi Hasan (FT) 23.1, 3. Mohd Alif Razlan (Bertam SC) 23.2. 

    400m: 1. Suresh Moorthy (MAAU) 48.0, 2. S. Ravindran (Kul) 48.2, 3. Mohd Zamri Mat Ali (MAAU) 48.4. 

    1,500m: 1. S. Ganesan (MAAU) 3:58.5, 2. V. Thiruvatiran (MAAU) 4:09.5, 3. M. Vadivellan (Panthers) 4:11.7. 

    10,000m: 1. A. Venugopal (FT) 34:23.4, 2. Samuel Moses (FT) 34:23.7, 3. Charles Sivasanggaran (Roadrunner) 37:10.0. 

    110m hurdles: Mohd Faiz Mohd (Tel) 14.51, 2. Sinar Shazwa (MAAU) 15.25, 3. Moh Fazrulza (Bertam SC) 15.91. 

    Discus: 1. Hasrol Nizam (MAAU) 40.07m, 2. Rodzi Hashim (Maybank) 37.94m, 3. Hafiz Hashim (Pah) 35.68m. 

    Long jump: 1. Mohd Hazuan Zainal Abidin (MAAU) 7.51m (meet rec), 2. Mohd Shahrul Amri (MAAU) 7.39m, 3. Mustapha Nizam (Pah) 6.77m. 

    Decathlon: 1. Azizul Azam (Kinta) 4887 points (meet rec), 2. Mohd Famizal Azmi (LMS) 3018, 3. K. Thamilmaran (Kinta) 2288. 

  • WOMEN 

    200m: 1. Nurul Eftihah (Ungku Omar) 27.0, 2. Jaswin Kaur (Asir Victor) 28.3, 3. K. S. Shanthiny (Panthers) 29.2. 

    400m: 1. Vally Micheal (MAAU) 58.2, 2. Leela Suresh (MAAU) 59.1, 3. Satvinder Kaur (Ungku Omar) 62.7. 

    1,500m: 1. Yong Wai Ling (Seri Keledang) 5:19.1, 2. Woo Seok Ping (Seri Keledang) 5:31.0, 3. A. Sangeetha (FT) 5:35.5. 

    100m hurdles: 1. Ching Lai Yee (Kinta) 16.05, 2. Siti Maimunah (Besout) 16.14, 3. Chan Wai Yi (Kinta) 17.22. 

    5,000m: 1.Teoh Tay Wah (Tel) 29:20.8, 2. A. Kalpana (Seri Keledang) 30:35.8, 3. A. Sumathi (Asir Victor) 31:10.4. 

    Shot putt: 1. Yap Jeng Tzan (KL) 11.61m, 2. Nurul Ain (Nse) 11.00m, 3. E. Mey (Ungku Omar) 8.66m. 

    Long jump: 1. Ngew Sin Mei (MAAU) 6.20m, 2. Liew Hui Fen (LMS) 5.38m, 3. Siti Maimunah (Besout) 5.38m. 

    Discus: 1. Siti Shahida Abdullah (MAAU) 38.18m, 2. Yap Jeng Tzan (Nse) 33.40m, 3. Nurul Ain (Nse) 31.59m. 

  • Article type: metered
    User Type: anonymous web
    User Status:
    Campaign ID: 1
    Cxense type: free
    User access status: 3

    Stories You'll Enjoy