Sprinter Nazmizan shatters 14-year-old record in Kedah Open


ALOR STAR: National sprinter Mohd Nazmizan Mohamad smashed Kedah’s 14-year-old 100m record when he breezed to victory in 10.69 seconds on the second day of the 51st Kedah Open Athletics Championships at the Darulaman Stadium here yesterday. 

Nazmizan, representing the National Sports Council, easily beat the old hand-timed mark of 10.8 held jointly by Md Hassan Hussein and Kamarudizaman Bakar.  

S. Ravindran of Bukit Jalil was second in 10.98 while another national runner Tan Kok Lim, also of Bukit Jalil, was third on 11.07. 

On the first day Nazmizan had also beaten the 200m record of 21.6 with a time of 21.1 but it will not count as it was hand-timed. The electronic system had failed to function. 

For his sprint double, Nazmizan was adjudged the best male athlete of the meet. 

Two other records were set by female athletes in the field events. 

Ngew Sin Mei, who equalled the national long jump record of 6.20m on the first day, was again among the records.  

She leapt 12.77m in the triple jump to erase the all-comers record of 11.86m, held by Norhaya Akmal Tarmizi. 

The other record was also in a field event. Wong Boon Siang of Bukit Jalil cleared 1.70m to surpass the existing Kedah record of 1.60m. In second place was teammate Zurina Hashim, who managed 1.65m. 

Sin Mei was named the best female athlete.  


  • MEN 


  • 1. Mohd Nazmizan Mohamad (NSC) 10.69 (all-comers rec), 2. S. Ravindran (Bkt Jalil) 10.98, 3. Tan Kok Lim (Bkt Jalil) 11.07. 

    400m: 1. Suresh Moorthy (NSC) 49.04s, 2. Mohd Jafril (NSC) 49.48, 3. Mohd Hafiz Zainal Abidin (Prk) 51.46. 

    1,500m: 1. C. Saravanan (Prisons) 4:16.58, 2. M. Paramasivam (POAKS) 4:17.0, 3. M. Vadivelan (Prk) 4:17.97.  

    400m hurdles: 1. P. Yogeswaran (POAKS) 56.91, 2. A. Jackson (SMK KK) 58.18, 3. A. Halim Bakar (POAKS) 58.86. 

    3,000m steeplechase: 1. M. Paramasivam (POAKS) 10:13.91, 2. R. Palanisamy (SMK KK) 10:29.98, 3. Rozaini Ismail (TLDM) 11:43.73.  

    4x100m: 1. Majlis Sukan Sekolah Kedah 44.87, 2. Matsushita Mechanical & Electric Co. 47.17, 3. Kelantan 47.45.  

    4x400m: 1. POA Kedah Selatan 3:38.53, 2. Tentera Laut di-Raja Lumut 3:46.07, 3. Matsushita Mechanical & Electric Co 3:49.0. 

    Shot putt: 1. Khaw Soo Soon (POAKS) 12.55m, 2. Abdul Fatah Majid (Prisons) 11.86m, 3. Anuar Yusof (SKM 2) 10.62m. 


    100m: 1. Norashikin Abdul Rahman (NSC) 12.44, 2. Nurul Eptihah (Prk) 13.28, 3. Nurshuhaila Zakaria (SMK Tunku Anoom) 14.22.  

    400m: 1. Leela Suresh (NSC) 59.28, 2. Norshahida Zainol (MSSK) 66.20, 3. V. Kogilavani (SMK KK) 67.20.  

    1,500m: 1. Yong Wai Ling (Prk) 5:22.45, 2. K. Vasantha (SMK KK), 5:46.39, 3. R. Christina (SMK KK) 6:42.37. 

    4x100m: 1. MSSK B 54.14, 2. MSSK A 55.17, 3. SMK Kuala Ketil 66.49. 

    High jump: 1. Wong Boon Siang (Bkt Jalil) 1.70m (all-comers rec), 2. Zurina Hashim (Bkt Jalil) 1.65m, 3. Siew Mei Yen (Bkt Jalil) 1.55m. 

    Triple jump: 1. Ngew Sin Mei (NSC) 12.77m (all-comers rec), 2. Nurazlinda Ali (Prk) 10.66m, 3. Amee Suryantee (SMK Tunku Anoom) 10.05m.  

    Discus: 1. Nurul Huda Akhir (MSSK) 20.27m, 2. Zura Omar (POAKS) 18.88m, 3. Noor Shuhaida Zakaria (SMK Tunku Anoom) 17.44m.  

    Javelin: 1. Nurul Huda Akhir (MSSK) 26.96m, 2. Nadzirah Che Amat (SMK Tunku Anoom), 22.83m, 3. Nurshuhaila Zakaria (SMK Tunku Anoom) 18.08m. 


    Article type: metered
    User Type: anonymous web
    User Status:
    Campaign ID: 1
    Cxense type: free
    User access status: 3

    Stories You'll Enjoy