Firdaus just misses SEA Games ticket


ALOR STAR: Firdaus Salim of SMK Tunku Anoom came agonisingly close to a place in the SEA Games squad when he missed the men's triple jump qualifying mark by a mere 1cm at the 51st Kedah Open Athletics Championships at the Darulaman Stadium here. He cleared 15.34m. The qualifying mark is 15.35m. 

However, his effort was enough to re-write the 39-year-old championship record of 14.94m established in 1964 by Ahmad Mahmud. 

In the women's section, long jumper Ngew Sin Mei, representing the National Sports Council, equalled her own national record of 6.20m which she had set at last year's Sukma Kota Kinabalu. The distance, however, was well off the SEA Games qualifying mark of 6.43 m. 

Her effort, which produced with her first jump, now becomes the Kedah All-Comers record, eclipsing the former record of 5.68m set by Haryati Mansor. 

Meanwhile, NSC athlete Nazmizan Mohd, who returned a hand-timed 21.1s in the men's 200m, had the satisfaction of erasing the championships record of 21.6s set by Kedah's Romzi Bakar in 1999. 






200m: 1. Nazmizan Mohd (NSC) 21.1 (meet rec) 2. S. Ravindran (Kul) 21.5, 3. S. Narendran (Prk) 22.1. 

800m: 1. S. Puviarasan (POAKS) 2:03.59, 2. Mokhtar Ismail (TLDM) 2:04.31, 3. Yap Chin Chun (Kel) 2:06.09. 

High jump: 1. Ahmad Najwan (NSC) 2.05m, 2. Quah Siew Kean (Prk) 2.00, 3. Mohd Hadi (Bkt Jalil) 1.95. 

Triple jump: 1. Firdaus Salim (SMK Tunku Anoom) 15.34m (meet rec) 2. Mohd Shayral Amri (NSC) 14.75, 3. Syahril Mohd Yan (NSC) 14.63. 

Javelin : 1. Suhaimi Hadi (Kel) 48.02m, 2. Mohd Hasni Sakiran (Prisons) 46.11, 3. Abdul Halim Bakar (POAKS) 43.91. 


200m: 1. Fauziah Abdul Razak (Prk) 25.47, 2. Siti Fatimah Mohd (NSC) 25.87, 3. Rozanna Roslan (Bkt Jalil) 26.27.  

800m: 1. Yong Why Ling (Prk) 2:30.06, 2. K. Vasantha (Ked) 2:40.30, 3. G. Sobana (Ked) 3:19.26. 

100m hurdles: 1. Masmurni Abdullah (Ked) 16.70, 2. Zura Omar (Ked) 16.98, 3. R. Hamutha (Ked) 20.29. 

5km walk : 1. D. Jegadisuari (SMK Kuala Ketil) 35:59.62, 2. E. Sanggetha (SMK KK) 38:49.89, 3. A. Jaqualine (SMK KK) 49:27.39.  

Long jump: 1. Ngew Sin Mei (NSC) 6.20m (equal nat. rec) 2. Liew Hui Fen (Bkt Jalil) 5.44, 3. Nurul Husna Bakar (MSSK) 5.21. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Stories You'll Enjoy