Junior Selvaraju gets a second chance

PETALING JAYA: Forward S. Selvaraju has been given a second chance to make good in the national junior hockey team. 

He was among the 31 players called up yesterday to prepare for two tournaments this year – a youth international tournament in Poland in August and a four-nation meet in Pakistan in December. 

Selvaraju lost his place in the national Under-19 team last year for bad behaviour in the Malaysia Junior Hockey League (MJHL). Then, he represented Malaysia Sports School and he was kicked out of the competition for abusing the umpire. 

But he emerged with an outstanding image in this year' s MJHL. Selvaraju helped Tenaga Nasional finish as the league runners-up and overall champions. 

He also won two awards – the best player of the championships and joint top scorer in Division One with 10 goals. 

Selvaraju's elder brother Bubulan also found a place in the squad. But the squad will begin training on Monday in Bukit Jalil under newly-appointed coach Sarjit Singh without eight players. 

The eight – Azlan Misron, Riduan Nasir, Ismail Abu, Megat Azrafiq, Mohd Sallehin Ghani, Hanafi Hassan, P. Prabakharan and Jivan Mohan – will be with the senior team, who also begin training on the same day to prepare for the Champions Challenge in South Africa next month. 

The two international tournaments lined up for the juniors are part of their preparations for the Junior World Cup qualifying tournament in Pakistan next year. Malaysia are the defending champions of the tournament in Poland. 




Goalkeepers: Firdaus Razali, Hanafi Hassan, Ahmad Bazli Razali, Fitri Abdul Aziz. 

Defenders: Wan Asyrizal Wan Mustpha, Engku Abdul Malik, S. Bubalan, Baljit Singh Charun Singh, Baljit Singh Sarjab Singh, Razi Ismail. 

Midfielders: Sufian Mohamad, Fikri Basar, Razie Rahim, Fauzi Rahim, Anwar Ali, Abbas Nekmat, S. Mahendran, Fakhrulrazi Baharuddin, Ahmad Anuar Sham, P. Mahendran. 

Forwards: Fairus Hamsani, Izwan Hassan, Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin, Azli Misron, S. Selvaraju, Fazreen Ehsan Kulub, Hafifi Hafiz Hanafi, Ikmal Jabbar, Hoesni Rahmat, Kelvinder Singh, Shahrun Nabil. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Stories You'll Enjoy