Taiwanese Hanss claims first win after teammate’s misfortune

SEPANG: Taiwanese Hanss Lin took his first chequered flag of the season as teammate and race favourite Ho Pin Tung's perfect record in the Formula BMW Asia Series came to an end in Round Four at the Sepang F1 circuit Sunday. 

Pin Tung, who won the three previous rounds and is the championship leader, was forced out of the race in the first lap after his car came down with mechanical problems. 

Hong Kong’s Pin Tung was beginning to build up a lead on his teammate when he started to slow down, allowing Hanns to pass him with ease. 

It was left to Hanss to carry the torch for Team Meritus and he secured a richly deserved win. 

Japanese woman Keiko Ihara finished second while South Korean You Kyong-ouk put in a super performance to take his first podium. 

“I am happy to finally secured a win here. But it was not easy as Ihara was pushing hard all the way,” said Hanss. 

However, Pin Tung did not end up empty-handed. Pin Tung and Hanns dominated the field to clinch a 1-2 finish for Team Meritus in Round Three. 

Ihara finished third for BMW Team Yellow Hat to secure a solid record of podium finishes. 

In the Proton Satria GTi Championships, Faidzil Alang capped a glorious weekend by winning both Round One and Two. 

Victory was hard earned for Faidzil in both races as he had to come from behind to beat defending champion Tommy Lee. 

A total of 10 races were held under the Asian Festival of Speed banner. 




Formula BMW Asia Series 

Round Three: 1. Ho Pin Tung (Hkg) Team Meritus 22:43.396, 2. Hanss Lin (Tpe) Team Meritus 22:43.604, 3. Keiko Ihara (Jpn) Team Yellow Hat 23:07.201. 

Round Four: 1. Hanss Lin (Tpe) 22:54.479, 2. Keiko Ihara (Jpn) Team Yellow Hat 22:59.945, 3. Kyong Ouk-you (Kor) 23:06.064. 

Asian Touring Car Championships 

Round One: 1. Lo Ka Chun (Hkg) 25:36.320, 2. Gary Sham (Hkg) 25:47.657, 3. Nick Thomas (Nzl) 25:55.742. 

Round Two: 1. Ao Chi Hong (Mac) 18:15.604, 2. Gary Sham (Hkg) 18:22.265, 3. Nick Thomas (Nzl) 18:25.418. 

Porsche Carrera Cup 

Round Two: 1. Nigel Albon (Gbr) 23:19.530, 2. C. Nattavude (Tha) 23:30.067, 3. Charles Kwan (Hkg) 23:35.544. 

Round Three: 1. C. Nattavude (Tha) 23:29.559, 2. Toby Venter (Rsa) 23:30.923, 3. Nigel Albon (Gbr) 23:49.525. 

Proton Satria GTi Championships 

Round One: Faidzil Alang 22:45.150, 2. Tommy Lee 22:45.606, 3. Tan Chaw Loon 22:55.509. 

Round Two: Faidzil Alang 22:47.735, 2. Tommy Lee 22:48.443, 3. Chin Jit Pyng 23:14.335. 

Proton Production Car Championships 

Round One: Hafizy Hafiz 23:24.745, 2. Sutan Mustaffa 23:29.280, 3. Shazuli Hisham 23:30.119. 

Round Two: Hafizy Hafiz 23:46.583, 2. Azmi Manisman 23:47.660, 3. Hasrin Tahir 23:58.195. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Stories You'll Enjoy