MSSM promise to take action against the violent ones


PETALING JAYA: The first half of the national schools (MSSM) championships came to a close on Friday with the attention more on the fighting prowess of the athletes rather than their fighting spirits.  

And with six more events getting underway next week, the call has gone out – do not misbehave. 

The highlight of the first half was obviously the incident in Ipoh when Terengganu supporters and officials swarmed the pitch to attack the Kuala Lumpur players in the MSSM Under-18 football final. 

Yesterday, acting director of Sports Division of the Ministry of Education Abdullah Junus promised that the guilty ones will be punished. 

THE CHAMPIONS: Kuala Lumpur Under-18 boys celebrate afer winning the national schools football championships, beating Terengganu in the final on Thursday.

“MSSM does not condone such behaviour. We have received full report on the incident. I am going to study it and we will call for a meeting to investigate this matter.  

“We will invite the technical chairman, a representative from the organisers (Perak), the relevant officers from both teams (Terengganu and Kuala Lumpur) and the referees,” said Abdullah. 

Besides football, there was tension in the hockey competition at Kuantan as well. It is learnt that following dissatisfaction over refereeing, the Selangor girls' Under-12 team conceded a walkover during the third-placing playoff against hosts Pahang. 

There was also complaints of impossibly tight scheduling in badminton, where the singles and doubles semi-finals and finals were held within a period of six hours. With the same players featuring in both singles and doubles, it soon became a test of wills and stamina rather than skills.  

Football, hockey and badminton were three among the 10 sports that were contested in the first half of the MSSM. The others were golf, athletics, hockey, cricket, yachting, rugby, table tennis, bowling and badminton. 

The second part, from June 3-6, will feature sepaktakraw (Perlis), netball (Penang), gymnastics (Sabah), aquatics (Selangor), squash and volleyball (Kuala Lumpur). 

Abdullah wants a better organised show and more camaraderie next week. 

“I urge the managers, coaches, teachers, players, supporters and technical officers to handle the situation in professional manner. Take part in good sporting spirit,” he said. 

Abdullah, however, was delighted with rise of several states so far this year. 

“In athletics, for instance, Sarawak defended their overall title but they won fewer medals. There were improvements from states like Terengganu, Pahang and Sabah,” he said.  



    Boys' Under-18 

    Final: Selangor bt Negri Sembilan by 32 runs (Selangor 203-6 in 40 overs; Negri Sembilan 177-10 in 35.3 overs) 

    Third place: Perak bt Kedah by five wickets (Perak 182-5 in 27.2 overs; Kedah 181-5 in 30 overs). 




    Final: Kelantan bt Perak 1-0 

    Third place: Terengganu bt Penang 3-0 


    Final: Perak bt Penang 4-1 

    Third place: Malacca bt Kelantan 2-0 



    Final: Perak bt Kelantan 2-0 

    Third place: Pahang bt Selangor w.o. 


    Final: Pahang bt Perak 1-0 

    Third place: Johor bt Perak 2-0. 





    Final: Mattues s/o Aloysius (Swk) bt Chai King Peng (Swk) 3-1 

    Third place: Peng Tze Kuan (Sel) bt Lee Foo Yee (Sel) 3-1 


    Final: Peng Tze Kuan-Lee Foo Yee (Sel) bt Mattues s/o Aloysius-Chai King Peng (Swk) 3-2 

    Third place: Lanzi Tan-Jana Lau (Swk) bt Goh Nai Nee-Mohd Zaiyad (Kul) 3-0 


    Final: Sarawak bt Selangor 3-2 

    Third place: Kuala Lumpur bt Sabah 3-2 



    Final: Kho Mao Sheng (Swk) bt Peng Jia Peng (Pen) 4-2 

    Third place: Peng Cheng Reen (Swk) bt Lee Boon Cheong (Joh) 3-2 


    Final: Peng Jia Peng-Lai Chun Liang (Pen) bt Lee Boon Cheng-Christopher Kek (Joh) 3-2 

    Third place: Kho Mao Sheng-Chai Jian Teng (Swk) bt Peng Cheng Reen-Nee Jing Luei (Swk) 3-1. 


    Final: Penang bt Johor 3-1 

    Third place: Sarawak bt Perak 3-1 




    Final: Kueh Wan May (Swk) bt Tan Boon Yi (Joh) 3-1 

    Third place: Loh Pei Yen (Ked) bt Yaw Pick Ling (Nse) 3-2 


    Final: Kueh Wan May-Wendy Lau (Swk) bt Tan Boon Yi-Eva The (Joh) 3-2 

    Third place: Loh Pei Yen-Gan Geik Ping (Ked) bt Wang Xin Yee-Ng Jiou Yin (Joh) 3-0 


    Final: Kedah bt Selangor 3-1 

    Third place: Sarawak bt Pahang 3-1 



    Final: San Xiao Jun (Mal) bt Chiu Soo Jiin (Sab) 4-2 

    Third place: Chai Swee Yee (Sel) bt Guy Lee Ching (Ked) 3-2 


    Final: San Xiao Jun-Liew Sheue Fen (Mal) bt Too Ning Hui-Too Ning Ying (Joh) 3-1 

    Third place: Guy Lee Ching-Chen Lian Fang (Ked) bt The Bee Xuan-Chai Swee Yee (Sel) 3-0 


    Final: Malacca bt Johor 3-1 

    Third place: Selangor bt Perak 3-1. 

    (Note: Best of seven matches in all the Under-18 finals.) 


    Sponsors Expert: 1. Alvin Yeow Jian Shing (Nse), 2. Mohd Alif Jimin (Prk), 3. Hazwan Hazim Dermawan (Prk) 

    Sponsors Novice : 1. Vanessa R. Stephens (Sabah), 2. Karin Lim Sze Heing (Sabah), 3. Ian Low (Pen) 

    Team: 1. Negri Sembilan, 2. Perak, 3. Sabah 

    Individual Expert: 1. Alvin Yeow Jian Shing (Nse) -7 pts, 2. Hazwan Hazim Dermawan (Prk) -17, 3. Mat Hashim Abdul Manap (Pah) -26. 

    Individual Novice: 1. Mohd Rafee Nashrudin (Sel) -14 pts, 2. Norul Fitri Azizan (Kul) -19, 3. Mohd Firdaus Norzali (Sel) -33. 

    Best Boy Sailor: Alvin Yeow Jian Shing (Nse) 

    Best Girl Sailor: Rifina Tan Hong Mui (Sabah) 

    Overall Champions: Negri Sembilan. 

  • Article type: metered
    User Type: anonymous web
    User Status:
    Campaign ID: 1
    Cxense type: free
    User access status: 3

    Stories You'll Enjoy