Three teams in the running for junior league crown


KUALA LUMPUR: The fight for the Division One title in the MHF-Milo-NSC-Admiral Junior Hockey league has narrowed down to three teams. 

Malaysia Sports School and Tenaga Nasional lead with 16 points each and defending overall champion Telekom Pahang are likely to join the equation in the title race after tomorrow's replay against MPPJ. And everything points to goal difference deciding the champions. 

Malaysia Sports School have the advantage over their two rivals in the run in to the title. They play against Yayasan NS this weekend and take on lowly Johor Sports Council in their last match on April 20. 

Tenaga will complete the preliminary round fixtures this weekend against MPK-Olak and Srii Aroma. 

Telekom have a tough task because they will be up against a MPPJ side needing a point from the match in Kuantan tomorrow to get into the quarter-finals. 

There is only one place remaining from Division One in the race for quarter-final spots. The five who have made the cut are MSS Terengganu, Malaysia Sports School, Tenaga, Telekom and Anderson-XyBase. 

In Division Two, the much expected title decider between Malacca MC and Sports School Juniors finished in a draw. 

Malacca MC are almost certain to clinch the title, as they need only one point from their last match against Perak Malays. 

Sports School who had kept pace with the Malacca team put themselves in a tighter position when they drew with MSS Perlis as well last week. 

Malacca MC face an inquiry today as Kerian, who lost to them on Friday, have made a protest, claiming that they had used six guest players. The rules allow a team to have only four. 

But it is unlikely that Malacca MC will be punished because the players they have are registered in the league through their sports club and are thus associate members of the club.  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Stories You'll Enjoy