Ferrari's bandwagon to roll on

  • Other Sport
  • Saturday, 22 Mar 2003

FERRARI is without doubt the most successful team when it comes to the Malaysian Grand Prix.  

They won all the first four races held here from 1999 to 2001. Eddie Irvine took the inaugural race before Michael Schumacher clinched victory twice after that.  

It was only last year that Williams-BMW punctured their perfect record of wins when Michael's younger brother, Ralf and Juan Pablo Montoya made it a 1-2 finish.  

Michael is also the undisputed king when it comes to securing pole position in Sepang. He has started from pole in all four previous Malaysian GPs.  

Old is gold in pole 

GIUSEPPE Farina is the oldest driver to secure a pole position in a Formula One race. He achieved the feat in the 1954 Argentinian Grand Prix at the age of 47 years, two months and 18 days. 

Currently driving for Ferrari, Rubens Barrichello is the youngest to do so. He was only 22 years, three months and five days old when he took his first pole at the 1994 Belgium Grand Prix. 

Schuey chasing Mansell’s mark 

CURRENT world champion Michael Schumacher still has a record to chase in Formula One – Nigel Mansell's superb record of 14 pole positions in one season. He achieved it on his way to becoming world champion in the 1992 season.  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across the site