Motor racing-Ferrari win 24 Hours of Le Mans for second year in a row

(Reuters) - Ferrari's factory team won the 24 Hours of Le Mans for the second year in a row on Sunday after a tight and tense battle with Toyota to the finish.

Almost out of fuel, Denmark's Nicklas Nielsen took the chequered flag at the wheel of a number 50 Ferrari 499P hypercar shared with Italian Antonio Fuoco and Spaniard Miguel Molina over 311 laps of the Sarthe circuit.

The number seven Toyota GR010 hybrid of Argentine Jose Maria Lopez, Japan's Kamui Kobayashi and Dutch driver Nyck de Vries finished 14.221 seconds behind.

Ferrari's winning crew from last year -- Italians Alessandro Pier Guidi, Antonio Giovinazzi and Britain's James Calado -- finished third in the 51 car.

Last year's win was the Italian marque's first overall victory at the French circuit in 58 years.

(Reporting by Alan Baldwin in London, editing by Clare Fallon)

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Next In Motorsport

Motor racing-Horner held kitchen talks with struggling Perez
Motor racing-Russell planning ahead with help from Djokovic
Jazeman hopes to rev it up in his Lamborghini Huracan
Motor racing-Norris on top in Hungary as Leclerc crashes
Motor racing-Hamilton would have stayed at Mercedes on current form, says Russell
Motor racing-Verstappen raced with blurred vision in 2021
Motor racing-Gasly trying to convince Sainz to join Alpine
Motor racing-Ralf coming out is good for F1 but more to do, says Hamilton
Motor racing-Magnussen to vacate Haas F1 seat at end of season
Adam determined to collect more points after Teluk Intan win

Others Also Read