Noguchi outshines Malaysian riders in Race 1

PETALING JAYA: Japanese Haruki Noguchi of SDG Motor Sports HARC-PRO ruined Malaysia’s party by winning Race 1 of Round 3 of the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship in Japan.

Noguchi, competing in the Asia Superbike 1000cc (ASB1000) category, completed all 10 laps at a consistent pace.

It was supposed to be a 20-lap race but it was reduced to 10 following a crash on the fourth lap.

Noguchi, who started from pole, did not budge from his position as he led from start till the end at the Sugo International Racing Course in Japan.

Noguchi claimed victory in a time of 15:00.898, followed by Malaysian Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi in second place with 15:04.789 and Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin in third with 15:04.884.

Noguchi said that racing in his homeland helped to boost his confidence but he encountered difficulties at certain turns.

“The prior practice and experience I had from the All Japan Championship gave me an insight into the condition and layout of the circuit, which I would say is a plus for me,” he said.

“Racing in my homeland is also a boost to my overall prowess.

“I would say that my machine is in good condition but I still struggled at certain turns.”

However, Noguchi is hoping that it will not rain today as he has no experience of riding in the rain.

“The weather today has been good during the race,” he said.

“Some riders are extremely skilled on wet ground and as much as I have never experienced riding in rain, I would do my best if the need arises.”



ASB1000: 1. Haruki Noguchi (SDG Motor Sports HARC-PRO Ph) 15:00.898, 2. Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda Asia-Dream Racing with Showa) 15:04.789, 3. Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin (Yamaha Gen Blu Racing Team Asean) 15:04.884.

SS600: 1. Kota Arakawa (Moto Bum Honda) 23:02.948, 2. Andi Farid Izdihar (Astra Honda Racing Team) 23:07.365, 3. Keito Abe (ONEXOX TKKR Team) 23:08.986.

AP250: 1. Takahide Tanaka (Team TEC2 & YSS NTR JP.) 23:53.198, 2. Ryunosuke Nakamura (Endless Team Shanti) 23:59.421, 3. Piyawat Patoomyos (Honda Racing Team) 24:17.385.

UB150: 1. Wahyu Aji Trilaksana (ONEXOX TKKR Racing Team) 18:05.412, 2. Peerapong Luiboonpeng (Team One For All) 18:06.112, 3. John Emerson Inguito (4S1M Yamaha Racing Team) 18:06.129.

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Motorsport

Runner-up Hakim rues missed chance in Motegi
Motor racing-Latifi to part ways with Williams at end of 2022
Motor racing-Chadwick still aiming to reach F1 in next five years
Motor racing-Horner expresses regret at missed opportunity with Piastri
Motor racing-De Vries and Doohan on Alpine's test list
Motor racing-Alonso will challenge Aston Martin - Krack
Motor racing-'Massive ask' for Red Bull to win all remaining races - Horner
Teamwork pays off as Afif wins CP150 category
Akid out to arrest dip in performance after first spot in qualifying
Syamil hopes to maintain momentum in Round 8

Others Also Read