Kasma looking forward to race in highly technical track in Japan

PETALING JAYA: Racing in a highly technical circuit may be daunting for any riders but not for Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin.

The Yamaha Gen Blu Racing Team Asean rider is looking forward to competing in Round 3 of the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship under the ASB1000 category at the Sugo International Racing Course in Japan today.

Kasma said the race would be exciting because of it’s highly technical circuit.

“The circuits in Thailand and Sepang are very different,” said Kasma.

“Thailand challenges our technical abilities while Sepang being wide, places emphasis on speed.”

“As for Sugo circuit in my opinion holds technical corners and blind spots which is sure to make it an exciting one,” he said.

Kasma carried out a test ride at the circuit a few months ago as part of his preparations for Round 3.

“I have never raced in Sugo but my team provided me an opportunity to conduct a test ride a few months ago,” he said.

“It provided pertinent information that I think will be really helpful during the race.

“With the positive test result, we are keeping our fingers crossed for a satisfying results.”

In the practice session yesterday, Kasma finished fourth when he clocked in 1:29.509, behind Haruki Noguchi, Apiwath Wongthananon and Rei Toshima.


ASB1000: 1. Haruki Noguchi (SDG Motor Sports Harc-Pro Ph.) 1:29.171, 2. Apiwath Wongthananon (Yamaha Thailand Racing Team) 1:29.321, 3. Rei Toshima (DOG Fight Racing) 1:29.390, Selected: 4. Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin (Yamaha Gen Blu Racing Team Asean) 1:29.509.

SS600: 1. Kota Arakawa (Moto Bum Honda) 1:30.975, 2. Andi Farid Izdihar (Astra Honda Racing Team) 1:31.393, 3. Nakarin Atiratphuvapat (Honda Racing Thailand) 1:31.799, Selected: 5. Azroy Hakeem Anuar (Boon Siew Honda Racing Team) 1:32.012.

AP250: 1. Rheza Danica Ahrens (Astra Honda Racing Team) 1:42.355, 2. Andy Mohd Fadly (Motul Sniper Manual Tech Racing Team) 1:42.425, 3. Aiki Iyoshi (Motul Sniper Manual Tech Racing Team) 1:42.723.

UB150: 1. Wahyu Aji Trilaksana (ONEXOX TKKR Racing Team) 1:46.385, 2. Murobbil Vithoni (LFN HP969 Indonesia Racing Team) 1:46.556, 3. Hafid Pratamaditya Nursandi (Pitsbike JRT OneWay) 1:46.826.

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Motorsport

Runner-up Hakim rues missed chance in Motegi
Motor racing-Latifi to part ways with Williams at end of 2022
Motor racing-Chadwick still aiming to reach F1 in next five years
Motor racing-Horner expresses regret at missed opportunity with Piastri
Motor racing-De Vries and Doohan on Alpine's test list
Motor racing-Alonso will challenge Aston Martin - Krack
Motor racing-'Massive ask' for Red Bull to win all remaining races - Horner
Teamwork pays off as Afif wins CP150 category
Akid out to arrest dip in performance after first spot in qualifying
Syamil hopes to maintain momentum in Round 8

Others Also Read