Motor racing-Ericsson a fifth wheel no more after Indy 500 win

May 29, 2022; Indianapolis, Indiana, USA; Chip Ganassi Racing driver Marcus Ericsson (8) of Sweden kisses the bricks after he wins the 106th running of the Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Mandatory Credit: Mike Dinovo-USA TODAY Sports

INDIANAPOLIS (Reuters) - Coming into the Indianapolis 500, Marcus Ericsson was the fifth wheel on a powerhouse Chip Ganassi Racing all-star lineup of champions and drivers who had already been to Victory Lane at the Brickyard.

On a team that includes six-time IndyCar champion and 2008 Indy 500 winner Scott Dixon, seven-time NASCAR Cup drivers champion Jimmie Johnson, 2013 Indy 500 winner Tony Kanaan and the current IndyCar champion Alex Palou, the unassuming Ericsson was -- that other guy.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 48
Cxense type: NA
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Motorsport

Noguchi pips unlucky Kasma to win Race 2
Motor racing-Vandoorne secures Formula E title in Seoul
Noguchi outshines Malaysian riders in Race 1
Motor racing-Formula E title goes down to Sunday's finale in Seoul
Motor racing-U.S. GP promoter hopes F1 title battle goes beyond Austin
Kasma looking forward to race in highly technical track in Japan
Motor racing-Shute pushes Peak performance to another level
Motor racing-Formula E's 100th race marks the end of an era
Hours at Suzuka will help Helmi endure new Sugo experience
Muzakkir expects sweeter end to race at Sugo after troubled start

Others Also Read