Hand it to Nazirul as he returns with a bang

Uplifting moment: Nazirul hoisting the CP150 trophy in the second round of the Malaysian Cub Prix Championship at Sepang International Circuit.

PETALING JAYA: Nazirul Izzat Bahauddin made a remarkable comeback from a hand injury that sidelined him last season by winning the CP150 race in Round 2 of the Petronas Malaysian Cub Prix Championship.

The 21-year-old, who recently joined Petronas Sprinta Yamaha Maju Motor, won the 11-lap race in 14:38.028 for his career’s second CP150 victory at the Sepang International Circuit yesterday.

Nazirul, who started sixth on the grid, waited patiently before making his move in the final lap when he sped from seventh to third.

His slip streaming strategy worked well during the final dash when he crossed the finish line 0.068 seconds ahead of pole setter Azroy Hakeem Anuar.

Nazirul earned his breakthrough win in Kangar en route to finishing seventh in 2019.

However, it turned out to be a season to forget last year.

He could only participate in two races before being forced out of the last six rounds through a hand injury.

“This win is meaningful to me at so many levels.

“On the one hand, it celebrates my return after more than a six-month layoff, ” he said.

“On the other hand, this is like an early thank you gift to my new team for taking a chance on me.”

The Negri Sembilan rider is now the championship leader with 29 points.

Muzakkir Mohamed, winner from Round 1, dropped to second overall with 28 points while Izam Ikmal sits third with 25 points.

The season will now take a break for Ramadhan and will resume Round 3 at Tangkak, Johor on May 22 and 23.


CP150: 1. Nazirul Izzat Bahauddin (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha Maju Motor 14:38.028,2. Azroy Hakeem Anuar (Honda) Honda Yuzy Idemitsu 14:38.096,3. Izam Ikmal (Honda) SCK Honda Racing 14:48.291.

CP125: 1. Adib Rosley (Yamaha) Ipone Yamaha YY Pang 11:27.095,2. Hafiza Rofa (Yamaha) ONEXOX TKKR 11:27.098,3. Ahmad Syukran Aizat Yusoff (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha-CKJ Racing 11:27.159.

Wira KBS: 1. Aqil Danial Nasrul (Yamaha) Petronas Sprint Yamaha-31 Racing 10:07.020,2. Danial Johan (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha-31 Racing 10:07.189,3. Syamil Amsyar Iffende (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha-31 Racing 10:07.195.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Motorsport

Motor racing-Deja vu for Red Bull as Hamilton reels in Verstappen again
Motor racing-Hamilton defends Bottas after slow response to team order
Motor racing-I just need a faster car, says beaten Verstappen
Motor racing-Alonso and Button hail Hamilton after record 100th pole
Motor racing-Perez feels the pain in Spain
Motor racing-Engine exits are big opportunity for Mercedes, says Wolff
Motor racing-Formula One assessing Turkish travel situation
It’s red light for Asia Road Racing now despite green light for start
Adam’s a hungry rider after tasting his first podium in Estoril
Ride on new bike finally gets smoother for Hafizh after four rounds

Stories You'll Enjoy