Eyes on Aiman after he pulls off surprise with fastest time

Vrooming on: Mohd Aiman Tahiruddin on his way to posting the fastest time in CP150 qualifying in Round 2 of the Petronas Malaysia Cub Prix Championship in Sepang.

PETALING JAYA: Petronas Sprinta Yamaha-CKJ Racing rider Mohd Aiman Tahiruddin pulled off a surprise by posting the fastest time in CP150 qualifying in Round 2 of the Petronas Malaysia Cub Prix Championship at the Sepang North Track.

Aiman registered a blistering 1:16.736 with seconds remaining on the clock in the qualifying session yesterday.

Petronas Sprinta Yamaha-CKJ Racing team also indicated they will be strong challengers today with their rider Mohd Affendi Rosli coming in with the third fastest time of 1:17.052.

Azroy Hakeem Anuar from Honda Yuzy Idemitsu Team, the championship runner-up last season, posted the second fastest time of 1:17.010.

Azroy still holds on to the fastest lap record of 1:16.426 in CP150 category at the Sepang North Track.

“The Superpole session, followed by the race tomorrow (today) will surely be a tough one if you look at the times posted by the top riders. Only 0.5 of a second separates me and the top 15 riders in qualifying.

“I’m just pleased to make my way to the Superpole session tomorrow, ” said Aiman, who is racing in his fourth full season in the CP150 premier category.

Mohd Adib Rosley from Ipone Yamaha YY Pang Racing Team was fastest in CP125 qualifying with 1:22.191.

Mohd Syafiq Rosli was second fastest with 1:22.709 followed by Ahmad Syukran Aizat Mohd Yusoff with 1:22.748.

Ron Hogg, director of Safe Aim Mutual Sdn Bhd, the race promoters, said Round 2 today will proceed without spectators.

“Of course, we miss the presence of fans at Cub Prix races. But with only one more round to go before the series heads into the Ramadan and Syawal break, we felt that it would be better to stick to the status quo, ” he said.


CP150: 1. Mohd Aiman Tahiruddin (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha–CKJ Racing 1:16.736,2. Azroy Hakeem Anuar (Honda) Honda Yuzy Idemitsu Team 1:17.010,3. Mohd Affendi Rosli (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha –CKJ Racing 1:17.052.

CP125: 1. Mohd Adib Rosley (Yamaha) Ipone Yamaha YY Pang Racing Team 1:22.191,2. Mohd Syafiq Rosli (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha Maju Motor 1:22.709,3. Ahmad Syukran Aizat Mohd Yusoff (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha-CKJ Racing 1:22.748.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Motorsport

Motor racing-F1 governing body to clamp down on suspected 'bendy wings'
Early Hari Raya cheer for Naquib as he wins eRacing Global Edition
Third round of Cub Prix postponed
Motor racing-Red Bull 'desperately' need Perez closer to the front
Motor racing-Hamilton hopes new contract can be sealed by August
Podium finish in Valencia sweeter than in Portugal, says Adam
Motor racing-Revived Ferrari hail a big step forward after dire 2020
Motor racing-Hamilton says he learned a lot about Verstappen in Spain
Motor racing-Wolff's message to race control signals new move for F1
Motor racing-Team by team analysis of the Spanish Grand Prix

Stories You'll Enjoy