Hafizh the toast of MAM Awards following his MotoGP exploits

KUALA LUMPUR, 31 Jan -- Temu bual eksklusif bersama pelumba MotoGP World Championship, Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah di Bernama News Channel (BNC), Wisma Bernama, hari ini.-- fotoBERNAMA (2019) HAK CIPTA TERPELIHARA

KUALA LUMPUR: MotoGP rider Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah (pic) was the biggest winner at the Petronas SIC Motorsports Association of Malaysia (MAM) Awards 2018.

Hafizh picked up the Petronas International Rider of the Year Award following his strong showing in the premier class where he finished second for the MotoGP Rookie of The Year award, just four points behind winner Franco Morbidelli who had 50 points.

The Selangor-born rider, who created history by becoming the first Malaysian to ride in the MotoGP World Championship, also took home the Malaysia Motorsports People’s Choice Award, an award selected by fans via online vote.

Meanwhile, Jazeman Jaafar was named the Petronas International Driver of the Year following his success in the World Endurance Championship with fellow Malaysians Nabil Jeffri and Weiron Tan.

Jazeman, together with Jackie Chan DC X JOTA Racing Team members Nabil and Weiron, created history by being the first all-Malaysian team to participate in the prestigious 24 Hours of LeMans race in France, where they finished fourth in the LMP2 class.

The trio was also the first Asian line-up to win the fourth round of the World Endurance Championship at the 6 Hours of Fuji, making them the inductees for the 2018 Malaysian Motorsports Hall of fame for the night.

At the event, 14 competitive awards were presented to individuals and teams who gave exceptional performances in 2018, while six honourees were inducted into the Malaysian Motorsports Hall of Fame which included rally navigator, Allen Oh; legendary go-kart driver Ng Wai Leong; as well as one of Malaysia’s first Grand Prix motorcycle racers, Kuan Huah Chin aka Bulldog Kuan.

On the national front, Mark Darwin and Muhammad Helmi Azman received honours as the SIC Best National Driver and Rider of the Year respectively.

Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad was conferred the Petronas SIC Motorsports Association of Malaysia (MAM) Awards 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award for his significant contributions and undying support for the Malaysian motorsports industry.

Dr Mahathir has been instrumental in bringing Malaysia to a higher degree of capacity and capability in the automotive world, starting with the idea of having a national car and the Sepang International Circuit (SIC).


Lifetime Achievement Award: Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad
The inductees to the Malaysian Motorsports Hall of Fame: Allen Oh, Ng Wai Leong, Jazeman Jaafar, Nabil Jeffri, Weiron Tan, Kuan Huah Chin (Bulldog Kuan)
Petronas International Driver of the Year: Jazeman Jaafar (WEC)
Petronas International Rider of the Year: Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah (MotoGP)
SIC Best National Driver of the Year: Mark Darwin
SIC Best National Rider of the Year: Muhammad Helmi Azman
SIC Best National Team (2 Wheels): SCK Rapido Hi-Rev Honda Racing
SIC Best National Team (4 Wheels): Dream Chaser
Most Inspiring Female Motorsports Athlete: Leona Chin
SIC Best e-Motorsport Athlete: Ady Rahimy & Angeline Lee
Most Improved Driver of the Year: Brendan Paul Anthony
Most Improved Rider of the Year: Danial Syahmi Shahril
KBS Motorsports Development Award: Danial Syahmi Shahril
Malaysia Motorsports People’s Choice Award: Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah
SIC-MAM-SAM Media Award (Best Journalist): Sukhairi Thani – Berita Harian
SIC-MAM-SAM Media Award (Best Photographer): Ridzuan Rizal Ahmad – Utusan Malaysia
SIC-MAM-SAM Media Award (Best Electronic Media): Hasnida Hanim Ahmad Kamil and Aji Saregar – TV3

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Sport , petronas awards , sic , motorsports


Next In Motorsport

Motor racing-Chinese F1 Grand Prix cancelled for fourth year in a row
Motor racing-Chadwick to race in U.S. Indy NXT series with Andretti
Afif pays tribute to his team and family for being a champ
Motor racing-IndyCar champion Palou to take on McLaren F1 reserve role
Motor racing-Ferrari shake things up again with Binotto departure
Motor racing-Binotto resigns as Ferrari F1 team boss
Motor racing-Retiring Brawn says he leaves F1 as strong as it has ever been
Motor racing-Hamilton's team take Extreme E title from Rosberg's
Motor racing-Ferrari F1 team boss Binotto to quit, Il Corriere says
Motor racing-Ricciardo returns to Red Bull as F1 test and third driver

Others Also Read