Tenaga will take the local route for new MHL season

  • Hockey
  • Monday, 01 Aug 2016

Tenaga Nasional captain Mohd Amin Rahim (left) holding the Premier League overall cup trophy with KL Hockey Club (KLHC) skipper Mohd Razie Abdul Rahim after a press conference at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil yesterday. Brian Moh/The Star.

KUALA LUMPUR: Tenaga Nasional have decided to stick to an all-local line-up in their chase for glory in next month’s Malaysia Hockey League (MHL).

Initially, Premier Division side Tenaga were toying with the idea of recruiting foreign players to end their title drought. But after a rethink, the three-time league and four-time overall champions abandoned the idea.

And they believe they can still mount a strong challenge with their local players.

“We will be the underdogs as the other teams all have foreign players. But we are deterred as we have faith in our local players,” said Tenaga team manager Adam Izamry Idrus.

This season, there are three titles at stake with the introduction of a new knockout tournament involving teams from the Premier Division and Division One.

“We now have three chances instead of two to win a title. It’s not impossible. We can draw inspiration from the upsets that took place in the recent Razak Cup and Sukma in Sarawak (where minnows Perlis and Penang made the final).

“We have to believe in our abilities and go for it. Every match is important. We must get off to a right start and fight till the end,” added Adam.

Mohamed Amin Rahim, the former international and penalty corner specialist, has been tasked with bringing back the glory days to Tenaga. It will be his first major coaching assignment. He was the assistant coach in the national junior team for the last three years. He is now an assistant to national development squad coach Wallace Tan.

“As a player, Amin won quite a number of trophies. He knows what it takes to play in the MHL. I am sure Amin will do well as a coach,” said Adam.

The Premier Division starts on Aug 19 with Tenaga opening their campaign against Maybank.

Besides Tenaga and Maybank, the other teams in the Premier Division are Terengganu, Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL), Kuala Lumpur Hockey Club (KLHC) and Sapura.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site