Record number of teams will do battle in MJHL

  • Hockey
  • Saturday, 02 Jan 2016

KUALA LUMPUR: A record 36 teams will compete in the new Malaysia Junior Hockey League (MJHL) season starting on Jan 15.

The Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC) competitions committee on Saturday accepted the entry of six teams who had sent in their application forms after the Dec 21 closing date.

“In the interest of the game and also the development of our junior players, we have decided to accept the six late entries,” said competitions committee chairman George Koshy.

“Ten teams will play in Division One. The rest will feature in Division Two with the format of play based on the zonal system,” he added.

The 26 teams in Division Two have been divided into three groups. The north and south zones have nine teams each while eight sides will play in the central zone.

“This season the format will be a one-round league for both divisions. The knockout stage for Division One will start immediately after the league competition. We will decide on Jan 9 (team managers’ meeting) whether the knockout competition will involve four or eight teams,” said George.

George added that there will be a slight increase in prize money for the two-month-long Under-19 league.

“The total for both divisions was RM128,500 last season. This year, we increased the amount to RM144,000. And we will also continue to give each team a RM3,000 grant,” said George.

In another development, the competitions committee are calling for entries for the girls’ MJHL. The closing date is Jan 30 and the league is scheduled to start after the Chinese New Year holidays on Feb 8-9. 

Division One: SSTMI-Thunderbolt, Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL), Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ), BJSS-Thunderbolt, SSP-MSP-Thunderbolt, Politeknik Malaysia, Olak PKT Tigers, SSTMI Juniors, Nur Insafi, SMK Dato Bentara Luar.

Division Two

Group A (north zone): MSS Perlis-PHP Young Lion, MSS Perlis-PHP Young Lion Juniors, Matri Perlis, MSSD Larut Matang, MSS Kedah, KHA-MSN Kedah, MSS Penang, SERATAS Taiping, Kuala Kangsar Malay College.

Group B (central): STAR Ipoh, Felda Juniors, Anderson-Thunderbolt, MSN Perak-ILHC, Anderson PHA, BJSS Juniors, MSS Kuala Lumpur, MISCF-UFL.

Group C (south zone): TBSS-Tampin, Malacca High School Hercules, Malacca Young Huricanes, SMK Datuk Taha, MSS Sabah, MSN Terengganu-PHT, Pahang Hockey Academy, SMK Dato Bentara Luar, SM Sains Johor.
Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site