Terengganu secure double double in nail-biting final

  • Hockey
  • Sunday, 20 Sep 2015

The Terengganu hockey players and officials celebrate winning the TNB Cup after beating KLHC in the final on Sunday. - IZZRAFIQ ALIAS/ The STAR

KUALA LUMPUR: Terengganu won their second double in as many years when they edged Kuala Lumpur Hockey Hockey (KLHC) 5-4 in a penalty shootout after the final ended 1-1 in regulation time at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil.

For the second year running, the overall title winners for the TNB Cup had to be decided by a penalty shootout.

Last year the match ended in a 3-3 draw and Terengganu won the shootout to emerge champions.

Sunday night’s match had all the ingredients of a classic and could have gone either way.

Faizal Saari was the scorer for Terengganu while Mohamed Razie Rahim netted for KLHC in regulation time. And even the mandatory five attempts during the shootout failed to separate the teams.

In the end, the match was decided by a sudden-death shootout.

It was Argentine Nicholas Cicileo who gave the east coast side the winning goal. It was heartache for KLHC again as Mohamed Syamin Yusof missed his attempt.

Both teams were evenly matched at the start. In the sixth minute, Faizal managed to score past KLHC goalkeeper Roslan Jamaluddin. But KLHC sought a video referral and the goal was disallowed for a leg infringement.

Terengganu only managed to break the deadlock in the 36th minute. With their second penalty corner of the match, Faizal was on target to give Terengganu the lead.

But two minutes later KLHC restored parity with Razie firing home from their third penalty corner.

The fourth quarter saw both teams pushing hard for the winner, but the few attempts by both teams were well saved by the goalkeepers.

Tempers flared in the 69th minute with KLHC’s Umar Bhutta and Terengganu skipper Mohamed Shahrun Nabil got involved in a scuffle. Faizal, who was nowhere near the incident, raced towards Umar and shoved him. Both Umar and Faizal were yellow carded while the two skippers – Razie and Shahrun – were shown the green cards.

It was the only interesting incident before the match went into the thrilling shootout.

In the playoff for third place, Sapura scored an easy 6-0 win over an injury-hit Maybank.

Abdul Haseem Khan (21st and 50th minutes), Faridzul Alif (47th and 57th), Dangerous Lee (38th) and skipper Mohamed Marhan Jalil (45th) were the scorers.

FINAL: Terengganu 1 KLHC 1 (Terengganu won 5-4 after penalty shootout)
THIRD PLACING: Maybank 0 Sapura 6

OVERALL CHAMPIONS: Terengganu (TNB Cup): (RM60,000)
RUNNERS-UP: KLHC (RM60,000) *Prize money split 50-50.
THIRD: Sapura (RM40,000)
FOURTH: Maybank (RM30,000)

LEAGUE CHAMPIONS: Terengganu (RM70,000)
THIRD: Sapura (RM40,000)
FOURTH: Tenaga Nasional (RM30,000)

FAIRPLAY: Terengganu (RM4,000)
BEST PLAYER OF TOURNAMENT: Fitri Saari – Terengganu (RM2,000)
BEST GOALKEEPER:  Roslan Jamaluddin – KLHC (RM2,000)
TOP SCORER: Faizal Saari – Terengganu – 17 goals (RM2,000)
FINAL'S MAN-OF-THE-MATCH: Mohd Razie Rahim – KLHC (RM2,000)

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Terengganu , MHL , TNB Cup , hockey , KLHC


Next In Hockey

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup called off
Hockey players staying put as Junior Asia Cup postponed again
Shello hopes to shine with juniors after seniors’ gig
Olympian Jiwa’s heart and soul still with hockey as he plans to ‘engineer’ a revival
Hafizuddin relishes fight for keeper’s position
Hockey-Nine test positive for COVID-19 at Indian women's hockey training camp
No fairytale debut but a good lesson for Pavandip
Striker Faizal relishes new role in midfield
Women's world championships cancelled due to COVID-19
Progress despite defeats, says Arul

Stories You'll Enjoy