Malaysia Hockey League to start on Oct 27

  • Hockey
  • Wednesday, 03 Sep 2014

KUALA LUMPUR: The Malaysia Hockey League (MHL) Premier Division will begin on Oct 27 and the closing date for entry is Sept 29.

Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC) secretary Datuk Johari Aziz expects eight to 10 teams to feature in the Premier Division.

The Premier Division final will be on Dec 21, thus giving national team ample time to prepare for the World League second round in Singapore from January 17-25.

The World League is the qualifying competition for the 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympics.

Johari said that each team will be allowed to hire six foreign players for the MHL.

Last year, six teams featured in the Premier Division – KL Hockey Club, Tenaga Nasional, Maybank, Sapura, Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL) and MBI-Nur Insafi. The KL Hockey Club bagged a double – league and overall titles – for a record fourth consecutive year.
Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site