Quentin among six new faces for Suzuki Cup assault

PETALING JAYA: Malaysia coach Tan Cheng Hoe has made some fresh changes by naming new faces for the national team’s preparation for the AFF Suzuki Cup end of this year.

He named 24 players with six new faces making their entry and another six returning for the centralised training on Oct 1.

He has dropped 12 from the previous 2022 World Cup and 2023 Asian Cup qualifiers.

Cheng Hoe said the players would take part in two friendlies in Jordan.

They take on the hosts on Oct 6 and Uzbekistan (Oct 9).

“I’ve identified the new faces based on their form and performance in the Super League and I believe they can gel well with the team,” said Cheng Hoe.

They are Petaling Jaya City’s Kalamullah Al-Hafiz; Penang’s Quentin Cheng, Al-Hafiz Harun; Selangor’s Sharul Nazeem Zulpakar, Mukhairi Ajmal Mahadi; and Terengganu’s Hakimi Abdullah.

He said they did not select key players Matthew Davies, Mohamadou Sumareh, Safawi Rasid and Nor Azam Azih to test the others in their positions.

“Quentin has played in all Penang’s matches and is a good potential for the country.”

Those returning to the national team are Melaka goalkeeper Khairul Fahmi Che Mat, Kedah’s captain Baddrol Bakhtiar; Terengganu’s Arif Fadzilah Abu Bakar, winger Faisal Halim; and Kuala Lumpur’s Akram Mahinan, D. Kenny Pallraj.

“I believe the games against Jordan and Uzbekistan will be good because they are top sides with great credentials.

“We hope to do well, boost our rankings and learn from these games.”


Goalkeepers: Kalamullah Al-Hafiz (PJ City), Khairulazhan Khalid (Sel), Khairul Fahmi Che Mat (Mel).

Defenders: Syahmi Safari, Sharul Nazeem Zulphakar (Sel), Aidil Zafuan Abdul Radzak (JDT), Rizal Ghazali (Ked), Quentin Cheng (Pen), Arif Fadzillah (Ter), Irfan Zakaria (KL), Dion Cools (Midtjylland), Dominic Tan (Police Tero).

Midfielders: Nazmi Faiz Mansor, Akhyar Rashid (JDT), Faisal Halim, Hakimi Abdullah (Ter), Akram Mahinan, D. Kenny Pallraj (KL), Mukhairi Ajmal (Sel), Baddrol Bakhtiar (Ked), Al-Hafiz Harun (Pen).

Strikers: Syafiq Ahmad, Guilherme De Paula (JDT), Luqman Hakim Shamsudin (KV Kortrijk).

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Football

Soccer-Arsenal did not show composure in Palace draw, says Arteta
Soccer-Liverpool's Alisson, Fabinho back for Atletico game, but Thiago still out
Soccer-Newcastle object as clubs pass rule to limit owner-linked sponsors - report
Soccer-Vieira frustrated after Palace throw away win
Soccer-Last-gasp Lacazette earns Arsenal draw with Palace
Soccer-Newcastle investigating alleged racist gesture towards Tottenham fans
Melaka samba stars confident of reaching Cup quarters
Elavarasan glad reserves show guts to fight on
Soccer-Angry Inter face key moment against high-flying Sheriff – Inzaghi
Soccer-England get Wembley stadium ban over Euro 2020 final chaos

Others Also Read