Henderson, Bronze win England's player of year awards

  • Football
  • Wednesday, 15 Jan 2020

FILE PHOTO: Soccer Football - Premier League - Tottenham Hotspur v Liverpool - Tottenham Hotspur Stadium, London, Britain - January 11, 2020 Liverpool's Jordan Henderson celebrates after the match Action Images via Reuters/Matthew Childs

(Reuters) - Jordan Henderson and Lucy Bronze have been named England's players of the year for 2019, the Football Association has said.

Liverpool captain Henderson secured the men's prize ahead of Raheem Sterling and Harry Kane after lifting the Champions League trophy with the Merseyside club.

The 29-year-old also helped England secure qualification for Euro 2020 as well as a third-place finish at the inaugural UEFA Nations League and reached the landmark of 50 caps in March.

Bronze, who won the women's award for 2019 ahead of Ellen White and Beth Mead, helped Olympique Lyonnais to the Champions League title in May.

The 28-year-old right back was part of the England squad that won the SheBelieves Cup last year and reached the World Cup semi-finals in France.

(Reporting by Hardik Vyas in Bengaluru)

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

What do you think of this article?

It is insightful
Not in my interest

100% readers found this article useful

Across The Star Online