FAM exco meeting end without any drama (updated)

Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) Deputy President Afandi Hamzah speak to the media during the press conference after the FAM Exco meeting at Wisma FAM in Kelana Jaya, Selangor, yesterday. MUHAMAD SHAHRIL ROSLI/The Star

PETALING JAYA: Nobody is quitting!

Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) president Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah did not show up although the red carpet was laid out to welcome him for the ninth seating of the executive committee meeting at Wisma FAM in Kelana Jaya on Monday.

The press conference room at Wisma FAM was packed with media personnel waiting for the drama to unfold.

This was the day, according to the Crown Prince of Johor Tunku Ismail Sultan Ibrahim, that Tengku Abdullah and his exco members were supposed to announce their decision to step down en masse.

It turned out to be a false alarm.

The only decision the exco made on Monday was to call for “an early fresh elections” – bringing forward the FAM Congress (election) from 2018 to 2017.

FAM deputy president Datuk Seri Afandi Hamzah confirmed that “Tengku Abdullah is still the president until the new elections next year”.

“The exco decided this as a collective responsibility. We will decide on the dates for the elections at our annual congress next month (Sept 15),” said Afandi after chairing the exco meeting on Monday.

“We cannot drop everything just like that ... there are procedures to follow. We have to give enough notice for the members to nominate the candidates and so on. This takes time. The secretariat will work on a suitable date.

“There is also the AFF Suzuki Cup around the corner and we have to prepare the national team for it. As for now, Tengku Abdullah is still our president. So, let’s wait and see what happens at the Congress.”


Executive Committee (2014-2018)



Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah


Deputy Presidents

Datuk Seri Afandi Hamzah

Datuk Abdul Mokhtar Ahmad



Datuk Zainol Fadzi Paharudin

Datuk Rozabil Abd Rahman

Datuk Sudarsono Osman

Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan


Exco members

Datuk Mohd Yusoff Mahadi

Abdul Aziz Yeop Jamaludin

Datuk S. Sivasundaram

Alijus Mohd Sipil

Datuk Osman Salleh

(The late) Datuk Goh Ah Chai

Datuk Junid Mohd Noor

Datuk Othman Aziz

Brig Gen Datuk Norhuda Ahmad

Normala Yusoff

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Football , FAM ,


Next In Football

Liverpool pay tribute to young fan killed by lightning strike
EFL slams Premier League broadcast deal, wants end to parachute payments
Soccer - Courtois calls for Real focus in title race
Soccer-Klopp keeps cool over Mane's 'high five' snub
Soccer-Protest disruption not to blame for loss, says Solskjaer
Soccer-La Liga and ESPN ink eight-year broadcast deal
Soccer-Sancho, Haaland doubles fire Dortmund to German Cup glory
Soccer-Ferguson says Solskjaer has 'done very well' at Man United
Soccer-Conte, Martinez settle scores with friendly boxing match
Soccer-Uruguay chosen to host South American club finals

Stories You'll Enjoy