Hasmizan misses chance at first international cap

  • Football
  • Friday, 30 Aug 2013

PETALING JAYA: Terengganu defender Hasmizan Kamarodin has to give up a chance to get his first international cap after succumbing to injury.

The 29-year-old centreback has been included in the national team’s training squad, with training due to go on from Sept 1-6 at Wisma FAM, before they fly out to China on Sept 7 for an international “A” friendly against the Chinese national team at the Tianjin Olympic Center Stadium on Sept 10.

However, Hasmizan has had to withdraw and miss the chance of earning his first-ever international cap due to a hamstring injury picked up in the Malaysia Cup match against Pahang last Tuesday.

“This a big blow for me. It’s a great honour to be called up to the national team but unfortunately, I have picked up a hamstring injury,” said the dejected former Bukit Jalil Sports School (BJSS) student on Friday.

“I will inform national coach Datuk K. Rajagopal about my injury and send him the doctor’s report on my hamstring condition. I’m deeply saddened by this situation and will worker harder after this to win the favour of the coach.”

The friendly against China is part of the national team’s preparations for the Asian Cup Group D qualifying match against Bahrain in Kuala Lumpur on Oct 15.

Malaysia are third in the standings after losing their opening away game to Qatar (2-0) in January and edging Yemen (2-1) at home in March.

National team training squad:

Mohd Khyrill Muhymeen Zambri (Ked), Mohd Baddrol Bakhtiar (Ked), Mohd Farizal Marlias (Per), Mohd Amri Yahyah (Sel), Mahali Jasuli (Sel), Asraruddin Putra Omar (Sel), K. Gurusamy (Sel), S. Kunalan (Sel), Mohd Nazrin Mohd Nawi (NSe), Mohamad Aidil Zafuan Abdul Razak (JDT), Norshahrul Idlan Talaha (JDT), Mohd Safee Mohd Sali (JDT), Safiq Rahim (JDT), Azamuddin Mohd Akil (Pah), Mohd Razman Roslan (Pah), Mohd Saiful Nizam Miswan (Pah), Khairul Fahmi Che Mat (Kel), Mohd Shakir Shaari (Kel), Mohd Fakri Saarani (Kel), Hasmizan Kamarodin (Ter). Mohd Faizal Muhamad (Ter), Sani Anuar Kamsani (Sar), Mohd Fitri Omar (Armed Forces), Helmi Remeli (PKNS).