Premier League quartet earn Malaysia Cup slots

  • Football
  • Thursday, 20 Jun 2013

PETALING JAYA: Premier League outfits Sarawak, Sime Darby FC, Johor and Kedah have picked up automatic slots to the 16-team Malaysia Cup competition, which kicks off in August.

The format for the Malaysia Cup competition assures the top four Premier League teams automatic slots together with the top 10 teams from the Super League.

The remaining two slots will be decided by playoffs.

The 11th and 12th teams from the Super League will compete with the fifth and sixth placed teams from the Premier League for the two slots.

Table-toppers Sarawak have won promotion to the top flight next season.

The East Malaysians have picked up an unassailable lead at the top of the 12-team standings with 49 points with three matches left.

Second-placed Sime Darby FC are the frontrunners for the other promotion slot on 45 points.

Basement-side NS Betaria, with just seven points, will be relegated to the third-tier FAM Cup competition next season.

The other teams languishing in the drop zone are Kuala Lumpur (14 points), UiTM FC (17), Perlis (19) and KL SPA (19).

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Sport , Premier league Malaysia cup


Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site