Du Plooy tops Stage 2 but local riders catch the eye too

  • Cycling
  • Thursday, 17 Oct 2019

PETALING JAYA: ProTouch rider Rohan Du Plooy took the top honours as the Malaysian riders also shone in Stage 2 of the inaugural Tour of Peninsular (ToP).

The stage which covered a distance of 157.4km starting in Kuala Terengganu and ending in Chukai, was again an open race with no one team dominating the proceedings yesterday.

There was no looking back for Du Plooy who saw an opportunity during the only King of the Mountain (KOM) stage at Kijal where he attacked with a small breakaway group to take a much deserved win in 3’30:43.

Iranian Amirhossein Jamshidian Ghlehsefidi of Foolad Mobarakeh Sepahan took second while Terengganu Inc’s (TSG) Harrif Saleh fought his way to third place.

The win also enabled Du Plooy to retain his blue jersey (King of Sprint) with 37 points and a 17-point advantage over Mario Vogt of Team Sapura Cycling (TSC) after three sprints at Marang, Kuala Dungun and Paka.

Du Plooy said he took his chances after cresting the peak at Kijal and was fully committed until the finish.

“I saw that a small group had gone clear over the top and I crossed over to join teammate Kent Main and one other rider (in the group),” said the South African.

“We were really committed to it and it was one of those days the breakaway could stay away but it was really close at the end, the gap to the peloton was only 10 to 15 seconds at 1km out and much closer on the line.

“Obviously I’m really happy that it worked out and we will go into tomorrow’s race looking to win again.”

Team Sapura Cycling’s (TSC) Mohd Nur Aiman Mohd Zariff took full KOM points at Kijal and his better finishing time saw him taking over the lead in the mountains competition (red jersey) over Indonesia’s Aiman Cahyadi (PGN Road Cycling Team) despite the duo being on six points.

“The plan from yesterday was to take control of the mountains competition jersey and I am grateful that I was able to do it today,” said Nur Aiman.

“I will try and collect as many points as possible tomorrow to strengthen my position. I aim to keep this jersey for all five stages but the climb up Cameron Highlands will be tough.”

Malaysian riders are now in control of two jerseys as Mohd Daniel Haikkan Edy Suhaidee’s lead in the best Asian rider competition (white jersey) remains unchanged.

It was also a quiet day at the office for overall leader Elchin Asadov of the Azerbaijan national team as he kept the yellow jersey for another stage. Both Daniel and Elchin finished comfortably in the main group.

Stage three today will start in Kuantan and finish in Karak (172.2km) and will feature intermediate sprints at Gambang, Chenor and Temerloh as well as KOM points at Srijaya (Cat 4).


Stage two (157.4km): 1. Rohan du Plooy (Rsa) ProTouch 3’30.43, 2. Amirhossein Jamshidian Ghlehsefidi (Iri) Foolad Mobarakeh Sepahan 3’30.43, 3. Mohd Harrif Salleh (Mas) Terengganu Inc TSG Cycling Team 3’30.43, 4. Mahdi Nateghi (Iri) Foolad Mobarakeh Sepahan 3’30.43, 5.Reynard Butler (Rsa) ProTouch 3’30.43, 6. Craig Wiggins (Aus) St George Continental Cycling Team 3’30.43, 7. Andre Looij (Ned) Taiyuan Miogee Cycling Team 3’30.43, 8. Norbert Banaszek (Pol) Hurom BDC Development 3’30.43, 9. Hayato Okamoto (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team 3’30.43, 10. Charalampos Kastrantas (Gre) Brunei Continental Cycling Team 3’30.43.

(Note: Race Commissioner gave same time after riders finished in a bunch)

General Classification (Yellow Jersey): 1. Elchin Asadov (Aze) 7’27.59, 2. Cristian Raileanu (Mda) Team Sapura Cycling 7’28.03, 3. Mohd Daniel Haikkal Edy Suhaidee (Mas) 7’28.05.

Red Jersey (King of Mountain): 1. Mohd Nur Aiman Mohd Zariff (Mas) Team Sapura Cycling 6pts, 2. Aiman Cahyadi (Ina) PGN Road Cycling Team 6pts, 3. Amirhossein Jamshidian Ghlehsefidi (Iri) Foolad Mobarakeh Sepahan 1pts.

Blue Jersey (King of Sprint): 1. Rohan du Plooy (Rsa) Protouch 37pts, 2. Mario Vogt (Ger) Team Sapura Cycling 20pts, 3. Nur Amirull Fakhruddin Mazuki (Mas) Terengganu Inc TSG Cycling Team 18pts.

White Jersey (Best Asian Rider): 1. Mohd Daniel Haikkal Edy Suhaidee (Mas) 7’28.05, 2. Igor Chzhan (Kaz) Vino-Astana Motors 7’28.09, 3. Nur Amirull Fakhruddin Mazuki (Mas) Terengganu Inc TSG Cycling Team 7’28.26.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Tour of Peninsular


Across The Star Online

Air Pollutant Index

Highest API Readings

    Select State and Location to view the latest API reading

    Source: Department of Environment, Malaysia