FACTBOX-Cricket-T20 World Cup 2024: dates, past winners and prize money

  • Cricket
  • Wednesday, 29 May 2024

FILE PHOTO: Cricket - ICC Men's T20 World Cup Final - New Zealand v Australia- Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai, United Arab Emirates - November 14, 2021 Australia captain Aaron Finch celebrates with the trophy and teammates after winning the ICC Men's T20 World Cup REUTERS/Hamad I Mohammed/File Photo

(Reuters) - The following outlines the schedule, venues and prize money for the 2024 T20 World Cup in the United States and West Indies, as well as a list of past winners of the tournament which begins on June 1.


* The ninth edition of the 20-overs showpiece event will run from June 1-29.

* It begins with hosts United States taking on Canada


* The tournament will feature 20 teams, divided into four groups.

* Group A - India, Pakistan, Canada, Ireland, United States (hosts)

* Group B - England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman.

* Group C - New Zealand, West Indies (hosts), Afghanistan, Papua New Guinea, Uganda

*Group D - South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal.

* Teams in each group will face each other once in a round robin format. A win is worth two points and a tie or no result is worth one point each.

* The top two teams from each group will progress to the Super 8s, where they will be divided into two groups of four each, and play each other in a round robin format.

* The top two teams from each Super 8s group will progress to the semi-finals.


* Games are being staged at nine stadiums, six in West Indies and three in the United States.

* Stadiums in West Indies: Sir Vivian Richards Stadium (Antigua & Barbuda), Kensington Oval (Barbados), Providence Stadium (Guyana), Daren Sammy Cricket Ground (St Lucia), Arnos Vale Stadium (St. Vincent & the Grenadines) and Brian Lara Cricket Academy (Trinidad & Tobago).

* Stadiums in the United States: Central Broward Park (Florida), Nassau County International Cricket Stadium (New York), Grand Prairie Stadium (Texas).

* The Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados, which has a capacity of 28,000, will host the final.


2007 India beat Pakistan by five runs

2009 Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by eight wickets

2010 England beat Australia by seven wickets

2012 West Indies beat Sri Lanka by 36 runs

2014 Sri Lanka beat India by six wickets

2016 West Indies beat England by four wickets

2021 Australia beat New Zealand by eight wickets

2022 England beat Pakistan by five wickets



(Reporting by Chiranjit Ojha in Bengaluru, editing by Pritha Sarkar)

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Next In Cricket

Cricket-End of era for New Zealand after white-ball title again proves elusive
Cricket-Australia ominous, Windies feeling right at home
Cricket-Warner looking forward to no Sandpaper-gate flak in retirement
Cricket-Williamson tight-lipped about T20 future after NZ exit
Cricket-Pooran turns on the power as West Indies pummel Afghanistan
Cricket-Ferguson takes three wickets in four maiden overs in New Zealand win
Cricket-Pakistan's World Cup failure down to poor batting, Babar says
Cricket-Bangladesh beat Nepal to claim final Super Eight spot
Cricket-Pakistan end T20 World Cup campaign with three-wicket win over Ireland
Cricket-Australia end Scotland's World Cup, send England into Super Eight

Others Also Read