Factbox-Cricket-World Cup 2023: dates, past winners and prize money

FILE PHOTO:A general view of Narendra Modi Stadium, one of the venues of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup, in Ahmedabad, India, September 28, 2023. REUTERS/Amit Dave/File Photo

(Reuters) - Here is what you need to know about the schedule, venues, past winners and prize money for the 2023 Cricket World Cup in India, which begins on Thursday and ends with the Nov. 19 final.


* The 13th edition of the 50-overs showpiece event will run from Oct. 5-Nov. 19.

* It begins with holders England taking on New Zealand.


* The tournament will feature 10 teams: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India (hosts), Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka.

* All 10 teams will face each other once in a single round robin format. A win is worth two points and a tie or no result is worth one point each.

* The top four teams will progress to the semi-finals.


* Games are being staged at 10 stadiums - Narendra Modi Stadium, Chinnaswamy Stadium, M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Arun Jaitley Stadium, Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Eden Gardens, Ekana Cricket Stadium, Wankhede Stadium, MCA International Stadium and Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.

* Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium - the biggest cricket venue in the world by capacity - will host the tournament final.


1975 West Indies beat Australia by 17 runs

1979 West Indies beat England by 92 runs

1983 India beat West Indies by 43 runs

1987 Australia beat England by seven runs

1992 Pakistan beat England by 22 runs

1996 Sri Lanka beat Australia by seven wickets

1999 Australia beat Pakistan by eight wickets

2003 Australia beat India by 125 runs

2007 Australia beat Sri Lanka by 53 runs (D/L)

2011 India beat Sri Lanka by six wickets

2015 Australia beat New Zealand by seven wickets

2019 England beat New Zealand on boundary countback after tie in super over


* Winner: $4 million

* Runner-up: $2 million

* Losing Semi-finalists: $800,000

* Teams eliminated after group stage: $100,000

(Compiled by Aadi Nair in Bengaluru; Editing by Peter Rutherford)

Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Cricket

Cricket-Warner angst adds spice to Australia's sleepy home summer
Cricket-Australia's Maxwell clings to test team recall hopes
Cricket-Pakistan board gives Rauf green light for short Big Bash stint
New cricket coach to be named on Friday
Cricket-South Africa rest Bavuma for India limited-overs series
Cricket-'Paid his dues': Australia's Khawaja goes in to bat for embattled Warner
Cricket-Sensational Hope seals West Indies win against England
Cricket-Iyer, fast bowlers guide India to win over Australia in dead T20 rubber
Cricket captain Faiz may call it a day after Bilal’s departure
Cricket-Australia must avoid post-Warne errors when Warner retires, says Bailey

Others Also Read