Cricket-Smith ruled out, Cummins, Warner rested from Australia's Windies tour

FILE PHOTO: Cricket - Australia Nets - Kia Oval, London, Britain - September 10, 2019 Australia's Steve Smith during nets Action Images via Reuters/Paul Childs

MELBOURNE (Reuters) - Australia will send an understrength squad to the Caribbean for the white-ball tour against the West Indies, with Pat Cummins, David Warner and Glenn Maxwell opting out, and Steve Smith injured.

Cricket Australia said pace trio Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson and Daniel Sams, along with all-rounder Marcus Stoinis, had also opted out of the tour for "various reasons".

Selector Trevor Hohns said in a team release on Wednesday that while they were disappointed not to have all their players available the national selection panel respected the decisions of those who had opted out of the tour.

"International tours in the time of COVID-19 undoubtedly present many additional challenges for athletes," Hohns added.

Master batsman Smith was nursing an elbow injury and was "disappointed" to miss out on the tour, Hohns said of the former captain.

Selectors telegraphed the changes last week by adding six players to Australia's white-ball squads amid reports some would skip the West Indies and following tour to Bangladesh because of 'bubble fatigue'.

Australia are scheduled to play five Twenty20 and three one-day internationals in West Indies next month and five Twenty20 matches in Bangladesh in August, subject to biosecurity arrangements and government approvals.

Warner, Cummins and Smith were among Australian players who competed in the Indian Premier League, which was suspended last month after a number of players and team staff contracted COVID-19 despite the tournament's strict biosecurity protocols.

Uncapped fast bowler Wes Agar, the younger brother of established spinner Ashton Agar, has been included in the 18-man squad along with Ben McDermott, Dan Christian and Ashton Turner.

Alex Carey, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Starc and Mitchell Swepson return to the Aaron Finch-captained squad after missing out on the New Zealand tour earlier this year due to a selection clash with the test side.


Aaron Finch (capt), Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Riley Meredith, Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

(Reporting by Ian Ransom; Editing by Peter Rutherford)

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Cricket

Cricket-Former captain Bailey replaces Hohns as Australia's chief selector
Cricket-England's Stokes to take 'indefinite break' for mental wellbeing, injury recovery
Cricket-ECB says player welfare 'main priority' in Ashes tour plans
Cricket-South Africa confirm white-ball tour of Sri Lanka in September
Cricket-Birthday boy Hasaranga steers Sri Lanka to T20 series win over India
Cricket-Sri Lanka hold nerve to sink depleted India in low-scoring thriller
Cricket-Ashes without England's best would be "farcical", says Vaughan
Cricket-Pollard slams pitch as Australia cruise to series win
Cricket-Shaw, Yadav added to India squad for England series
Cricket-Bhuvneshwar shines as India beat Sri Lanka by 38 runs in first T20

Stories You'll Enjoy