Young Perak shuttlers shine in grassroots tourney

  • Community Sports
  • Thursday, 05 Dec 2019

Winners of the Tian Siang Cup Badminton Championship 2019.

PERAK emerged overall champions of the Tian Siang Cup Badminton Championship 2019 after securing six titles.

During the event that was held at the Manjung Badminton Arena, the state won in the Boys Doubles

Under-13, Boys Singles Under-13, Boys Singles Under-Nine, Boys Singles Under-14, Boys Singles Under-15 and Girls Singles Under-Eight categories.

In second place was Penang with five titles while Pahang came in third with two titles.

Terengganu and Melaka each won a title.

Some 558 matches were played during the tournament, featuring 428 grassroots and teenage players from 10 states, including Selangor, Kuala Lumpur, Kedah and Kelantan.

Organising chairman Ling Ka Chung said they planned to expand the next tournament by having a new category.

“For the 2020 tournament, we have planned to add the inter-

private club categories for boys and girls Under-12 and Under-15.

“We will invite 32 teams to participate and they will be placed into eight groups of four teams each. The champions of the respective groups will advance to the quarter-finals.

“We want to provide a platform for our budding talents to gain more exposure and experience by organising different types of competitions, ” he added.

Article type: free
User access status: 3



What do you think of this article?

It is insightful
Not in my interest

Across The Star Online