Nabil: We deserve award as a team

(From left) Tan, Jazeman and Nabil chalked a first in their respective careers by becoming the first Malaysians and all-Asian line-up to win a World Endurance Championship race after winning the LMP2 class in the 6 Hours of Fuji race at the Fuji Speedway in Japan last October.

ALL for one, one for all. That is how former World Endurance Champion­ships (WEC) drivers Nabil Jeffri, Jazeman Jaafar and Weiron Tan believe they should be judged at the 2018 Petronas Sepang International Circuit (SIC)-Motorsports Association of Malaysia (MAM) Award tonight.

The trio have been pitted against each other after being nominated individually for the Petronas Inter­national Driver of the Year award.

They made history for Malaysia last October when they won the Fuji Six-Hour Race as a team.

Nabil hopes they will be declared joint winners.

“This is the first time I have been nominated in the category but I feel we should all win it after our historic win as a team last year. Never has an all-Malaysian team competed at the world level and won.

“So I think it’s only right that we should win as a team and not individually because we won the WEC together,” said Nabil, who was the winner of the 2017 Youth and Sports Ministry Motorsports Development Award.

Nabil and Jazeman have also been nominated for the Malaysia Motorsports People’s Choice award.

The trio, driving in the WEC series under SIC’s Driver Development Programme, also finished second at the Silverstone Circuit last August

and fourth in Le Mans, Shanghai and Spa-Francorchamps.

The third edition of the Petronas SIC-MAM Awards ceremony will have 14 categories, including the introduction of the Most Inspiring Female Motorsports Athlete and SIC Best e-Motorsports Athlete.

SIC chief executive officer Datuk Razlan Razali said the awards were specially created to give recognition to athletes involved in the world of motorsports.

“For me, it’s difficult to choose the candidates every year. There are too many qualified individuals, making it difficult for the selection panel to decide. We have had more than 20 nominees for each category,” he said.

Meanwhile, national MotoGP ace Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah has been nominated for the Petronas International Rider of the Year award together with Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (ARRC), Habibullah Mohd Salleh (FIM Asia Supermoto) Danial Syahmi Shahril (ATC) and Muhammad Helmi Azman (ARRC).

— Bernama

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Community Sports

The Star pundits edge Astro’s trio in MetroSport Forecast Challenge
Cup final on a knife-edge
Etihad cracker
Hammers should see off the Toffees
Mission to end rival’s Champions League dream
Reds must convert their chances at Old Trafford
Football-centric programme to groom at-risk teens
Former journo first to swim non-stop from Perhentian to Besut
Tough task awaits Spurs
Big guns face tricky fixtures

Stories You'll Enjoy