MBPJ Tigers are kings of Selangor

The victorious MBPJ Tigers and officials celebrating after winning the overall title.

MBPJ Tigers finished overall champions of the TNB-QNET Selangor Hockey League 2017, the biggest state league in the country with 71 teams competing in five divisions this year.

In the final played at the MBPJ Stadium recently, MBPJ Tigers defeated HSF Hockey Club 4-3 after leading 2-1 at the break. Both teams had earlier finished as Division One champions and runners-up respectively with UiTM finishing third.

In the Men’s Division Two, RAMD emerged champions while MBPJ Tigers Juniors finished second with Selayang coming out third.

The Selangor Hockey Association (SHA), as part of its development programme, also included a new division for 10 districts in the state.

The District Training Programme (DTP) league, catering for the Under-14 age group, was part of the QNET-TNB Selangor Hockey league (SHL) and placed under Division Five. Kuala Selangor finished top in this division followed by Kuala Langat (second) and Gombak (third).

A Kuala Selangor player (in orange) dribbling away from his Kuala Langat opponent in the Division Five final. Kuala Langat are champions of Division Five.
A Kuala Selangor player (in orange) dribbling away from his Kuala Langat opponent in the Division Five final. Kuala Langat are champions of Division Five.

In Division Four (Women), Uniten Ivy were crowned champions with UiTM runners-up and Puchong Ladies clinching third position.

There were 10 teams competing in Division One, 23 in Division Two, 15 in Division Three and 10 in Division Five. Division Four caters for the schools girls (eight teams) and Women’s Open (five teams).

QI Group deputy group managing director Kuna Senathirajah said they were delighted to be associated with SHA.

“Our partnership started three years ago. We have seen the league grow in stature and it gives us an opportunity to connect with the community.

“It is also QNET’s vision to assist the SHA in the development of hockey at the grass-roots level,” said Kuna.

SHA president S. Ganesh said they were grateful for QNET’s support towards the SHL.

“We have also received support from TNB through the Malaysian Hockey Confederation.

“Our main priority is the junior development programmes. The schools in Selangor are showing a lot of interest and the DTP is also in place. Overall, the league this year has been a tremendous success.”


Division 1 - Men                                                                       

Champion: HSF HC (Head Shot Family)

Second: MBPJ Tiger

Third: UITM

Division 2 – Men                                            

Champion: RAMD

Second: MBPJ Tiger Juniors

Third: Selayang

Division 4 - Girls 

Champion: Uniten Ivy

Second: UITM

Third: Puchong Ladies

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Community Sports

Top clubs put Malaysia on map
Brazil start with slight edge
Who will lift the trophy in Qatar?
MetroSport Forecast Challenge
Chelsea have a point to prove
Mersing hosts extreme bike event
MetroSport forecast challenge
Liverpool in ‘must win’ clash at Tottenham
Tight call in North London derby
English league primed for upsets

Others Also Read