Bowling walk away with a triple treat at awards night

  • Bowling
  • Wednesday, 24 Apr 2019

Tun Ameerul Luqman Al Hakeem Datuk Tun Hasnul Azam (second right) and Adrian Ang Hsien Loong (right) receiving the National Men's Team award by Youth and Sports Minister Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman (second left) as National Sports Council (NSC) director general Datuk Ahmad Shapawi Ismail looks on during the 2018 National Sports Award ceremony.

KUALA LUMPUR: It was a glorious day for the bowling team as they walked away with three titles at last night’s 2018 National Sports Awards.

Apart from Rafiq Ismail being crowned the Best Sportsman of the Year, the Malaysian Tenpin Bowling Congress (MTBC) claimed the men’s Team of the Year through Adrian Ang and Tun Ameerul Hakim Tun Hasnul Azam and men’s Coach of the Year in Holloway Cheah.

Adrian and Ameerul created history at the World Championships in Hong Kong last year by becoming the nation’s first men’s doubles winners.

For Adrian, the award completed a month of joy for him.

“I picked up the Penang Sportsman of the Year award, won the Thailand Open, got inducted into the Malaysia Book of Records and tonight Hakim and I were named Best Team of the Year – all in the last two weeks!,” said Adrian.

“It’s been amazing for us but I can assure everyone that we will not rest on laurels.”

Septuagenarian Holloway won his second best coach award. The last time he won it was in 2003, the year he guided the women’s team to the world title in Kuala Lumpur.

“I’m so happy to win again, it’s been awhile,” said the 76-year-old. “I would like to thank MTBC for continuing to have faith in me.”

Holloway has led the bowlers to all the major titles including the World Championships, World Cup and the Asian Games.

MTBC president Datuk Dr P.S Nathan hailed the bowlers while Holloway’s recognition particularly pleased him most.

“We in the MTBC are delighted beyond words that three of our nominees have won,” said Dr Nathan.

“Thanks to him, the number of medals the bowlers have won runs in the hundreds.”

The MTBC could have landed a fourth award through their Asian Games gold medal-winning trios of Esther Cheah, Siti Safiyah Amirah Abdul Rahman and Syaidatul Afifah Badrul Hamidi, but they were pipped by divers Pandelela Rinong and Cheong Jun Hoong to the Best Women’s Team award.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Bowling

Siti not shaken
Nurul Dini aims to rise above expectations to fulfil mum’s wish
Bold vision for 2021
Shalin keeps Li Jane rolling on
Do you know...some interesting facts about bowling?
Frustrated bowlers forced to break camp
Dignified departure
Nurul Dini favourite to take over Shalin’s spot in national team
Shalin’s irreplaceable, say coach and teammates
Rock and roll’s over

Stories You'll Enjoy