Junior superheroes out to bring cheer to the courts

PETALING JAYA: Datuk Misbun Sidek will make sure the juniors are kept on their toes in this uncertain times.

The Badminton Association of Malaysia (BAM) junior development director has decided to host a closed-door tournament similar to the mixed team championships held last month at the Academy Badminton Malaysia.

Misbun said there will be a team event for players aged between 15 and 18 as it was necessary to continuously gauge their current level after undergoing training since July.

“I’m satisfied with the level of discipline and the desire to perform among the players. But I also want to see their adaptability to the training modules which we had drawn up, ” said Misbun.

There will be a total of 13 events contested which will include a three-on-three. All events will be played under the 15-point rally scoring format.

“Their fitness level have improved but competition like this will help their confidence too. I want to see how resilient they are and how they use the technical and tactical abilities when under pressure, ” he added.

The 74 players will be divided into four groups – Junior Terminators, Junior Avengers, Junior Transformers and Junior Dominators.


JUNIOR TERMINATORS: Ong Zhen Yi (captain): Mohd Fazriq Razif, Dylan Ooi, Mohd Faiq Haziq, Kang Khai Xing, Kee Is Qian, Owen Low, Siti Nurshuhaini Azman, Oh Jia Qi, Ong Xin Yee, Adiyna Anuar, Shaneesa Shahidi, Lai Ting Cen, Mohd Haikal Nazri, Jimmy Wong, Bryan Jeremy, Cheng Su Yin, Lee Xin Jie.

JUNIOR AVENGERS: Jacky Kok (captain), V. Poopathi, Eogene Ewe, Jan Jireh Lee, Yeow Chun Cher, Lee Yen Wei, Chee Hong Wei, Mohd Amzar Akbar, Myisha Mohd Khairul, Lim Shin, Chan Wen Tse, Siti Zulaikha Azmi, Noraqilah Maisarah, Beh Chun Meng, Liew Xun, Faris Amrin, Cheng Su Hui, Go Pei Kee.

JUNIOR TRANSFORMERS: Justin Hoh (captain), Chua Kim Sheng, Anson Cheong, Hanz Haiqal, Low Han Chen, Aaron Tai, Kong Teck Joon, Lim Wei Hou, Khor Jing Wen, Joanne Ng, Lim Yi Wei, Chong Jie Yu, Tan Zhing Hui, Ng Wen Xi, Wan Arif Wan Junaidi, Choi Jian Sheng, Kok Jia Cheng, Valeree Siow, Odelia Wong.

JUNIOR DOMINATORS: Ong Ken Yon (captain), Chia Jeng Hon, Adam Shazlan, Rex Hooi Shao Herng, Ferdinan Ramno, Lok Hong Quan, V. Tamilarasukumar, Ayu Fu Sheng, Tan Zhing Yi, Loh Zhi Wei, Carmen Ting, Oo Shan Zi, Yeap Phoi Lin, Christine Lam, Goh Boon Zhe, Wong Vin Sean, Ooi Yi Hern, Low Yeen Yuan, Wong Lily.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


100% readers found this article insightful

Next In Badminton

It’s priority and safety over prestige for Mei Kuan-Meng Yean
BAM discards Soon Huat-Shevon head to Europe with something to prove
One hectic job to fit in all four majors in one year
Zii Jia has nemesis Momota in his path at All-England
Dad’s not a problem
Fight like there’s no tomorrow, Flandi tells Sze Fei-Izzuddin
Taiwanese duo to skip All-England
Tan’s a smash hit on FB
New date but same status for Malaysian Open
June Wei plans to end one-year wait with good show in Orleans

Stories You'll Enjoy