National shuttlers down India to stay on course for Sudirman Cup quarter-finals

PETALING JAYA: National top women's doubles pair Chow Mei Kuan-Lee Meng Yean kept their nerves in check to inspire Malaysia to a come-from-behind victory over India in the Sudirman Cup in Nanning, China, on Tuesday (May 21).

The world No 13 delivered the crucial winning point by beating Ashwini Ponnappa-N. Sikki Reddy 21-11, 21-19.

They pulled of one of the greatest fightbacks when they were 15-19 in the second game to prevail 21-19 to wrap up a 3-2 victory for Malaysia.

Earlier, men's singles Lee Zii Jia and men's doubles scratch pair of Aaron Chia and Teo Ee Yi rose to the occasion in the second and fourth ties to cancel out India's lead twice.

Zii Jia put up a superb display to down Sameer Veerma 21-13, 21-15, while Aaron-Ee Yi, reunited for the first time since last year's Thomas Cup, downed Manu Attri-B. Sumeeth Reddy 22-20, 21-19 to make it 2-2 in the overall standings.

Mixed doubles pair Satwiksairaj Rankireddy-Ashwini gave India the opening point by claiming their third win in as many meetings over Goh Soon Huat-Shevon Lai Jemie with a 16-21, 21-17, 24-22 victory.

Rio de Janeiro Olympics silver medallist P.V. Sindhu proved too hot to handle for Goh Jin Wei in the women's singles match, romping to a 21-12, 21-8 win to make it 2-1 for India.

 Malaysia then stormed to victories in the fourth and fifth ties to stay on course for a third straight quarter-finals appearance in the prestigious mixed team badminton competition.

Malaysia were thumped 5-0 by 10-time winners China in their opening tie on Sunday (May 19).

They must still wait for the outcome of the final Group 1D match between star-studded China and India tomorrow to see if they have done enough to finish as the group runners-up.



Group 1D: Malaysia bt India 3-2 (Goh Soon Huat-Shevon Lai Jemie lost to Satwiksairaj Rankireddy-Ashwini Ponnappa 21-16, 17-21, 22-24; Lee Zii Jia bt Sameer Verma 21-13, 21-15; Goh Jin Wei lost to P.V. Sindhu 12-21, 8-21; Aaron Chia-Teo Ee Yi bt Manu Attri-B. Sumeeth Reddy 22-20, 21-19; Chow Mei Kuan-Lee Meng Yean bt Ashwini Ponnappa-N. Sikki Reddy 21-11, 21-19).