Badminton: Aaron-Wooi Yik through to All-England final

We made it: Aaron Chia-Wooi Yik Soh celebrate winning their men's doubles semi final match against Indonesia's Fajar Alfian-Muhammad Rian Ardianto.

PETALING JAYA: National men's doubles pair Aaron Chia-Soh Wooi Yik are on the brink of claiming a sensational All-England victory after sealing a place in the final on Saturday (March 9).

Despite being just one win away from a famous triumph, the duo are not about to get carried away just yet.

"We're not going to celebrate yet. There's still final to be played, what we need to do now is to stay calm, rest and get ready for the title clash," said Aaron.

The world No. 18 fought back from a game down to beat Indonesia's Fajar Alfian-Muhammad Rian Ardianto of Indonesia 12-21, 22-20, 21-19 and became the first Malaysian pair to reach the final since Koo Kien Keat-Tan Boon Heong in 2011.

Aaron-Wooi Yik will now attempt to emulate Kien Keat-Boon Heong's feat of winning the prestigious title in 2007 when they take on Indonesian veterans Mohammad Ahsan-Hendra Setiawan, the 2014 winners, in the title decider.

Two-time world champions Ahsan-Setiawan rolled back the years to outplay Japan's Takeshi Kamura-Keigo Sonoda 21-19, 21-16 in the earlier last four clash.

Aaron-Wooi Yik had lost in all their previous two meetings against the Ahsan-Setiawan with the latest defeat being in the first round of Indonesian Masters in January.

Aaron-Wooi Yik have yet to win a title since they teamed up in November 2017. They have runners-up results to date - Indian International in 2017, Malaysian International, where they lost to Ahsan-Setiawan, Vietnam International and SaarLorLux Open in Germany last year.

If Aaron-Wooi Yik walk away victorious, they will become the ninth different pairs from Malaysia to emerge the men's doubles winners since the tournament inception in 1898.

Besides Kien Keat-Boon Heong, the others who had won previously were Ooi Teik Hock-Teoh Seng Khoon (1949), David Choong-Eddy Choong (1951-1953), Ooi Teik Hock-Ong Poh Lim (1954), Lim Say Hup-Teh Kew San (1959), Ng Boon Bee-Tan Yee Khan (1965-1966), Boon Bee-Punch Gunalan (1971) and Razif Sidek-Jalani Sidek (1982).

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Badminton

It’s double the workload for Meng Yean
Momota can’t afford below-par display in Sudirman Cup
Mee Fen hopes Jin Wei will rethink about her decision to quit
Time is ripe for Nurshuhaini to be made a senior
Seu Bock: Jin Wei still achieved great feats despite ailment
Plus factor for Pearly-Thinaah ahead of major tournaments
In-form Liek Hou’s bid to reclaim world title on hold
Wong: We’ve done everything to persuade shuttler to stay
Did Sudirman Cup snub drive Jin Wei to call it quits?
Soh: Japan’s doubles still strong despite retirement of top trio

Stories You'll Enjoy