Impacts of Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) on BRI

The aim of the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) is to create the world's largest free-trade zone in terms of trade volume or population, effective from January 1, 2022. It is a free trade agreement among fifteen countries (Australia, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam).

The RCEP agreement simplifies customs clearance procedures between all member nations, in keeping with the fundamental principles of free trade. Overall, it will reduce delays, which will save costs and speed up turnaround times. In addition, to safeguard digital trade within the RCEP region, all countries have agreed to paperless trade, mutual recognition of digital signatures, and the establishment of multilateral digital protocols.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 53
Cxense type: NA
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Columnists

Haaland in wonderland, Almiron sizzles as EPL returns with a bang
Is sustainable HR management humanistic?
Approaches to law reform
Pink attitude for male breast cancer
Telling herstory
When fake goes mainstream
Check before you forward!
Cold ground ahead of polls
Let’s book ’em! It’s time to tell the stories of our stars
Handle unpolished gems with care so that they’ll be our future diamonds

Others Also Read