Rules for the Rulers

Of national interest: The Conference of Rulers – comprising the nine rulers, and governors or Yang di-Pertua Negeri of the other four states – meets three times a year to deliberate on matters of national policy.

THIS may have escaped many of us, but our Rulers – be it the King or Sultans of the nine Malay states – are bound by certain rules and regulations, including taking leave, as ordinary Malaysians do.

For example, if any of them were to go on leave of absence for more than 30 days, the Sultan would have to appoint his Regent to handle his duties.

Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Opinion , Politics , Wong Chun Wai , On the beat


Next In Columnists

Eating out now a luxury
How mastering basics can make or break teams in football
We need popular science stories
How reforms, like Rome, must be built incrementally
Global Development Initiative paves the way to carbon neutrality
David and Goliath
Ways to manage chronic prostatitis
Irrational cruelty
Tasteful tapestry
All eyes on Pahang by-election

Others Also Read