U.S. Treasury Department slaps sanctions on 7 Russian officials over Navalny poisoning

FILE PHOTO: Russian Federal Security Service (FSB) Director Alexander Bortnikov speaks during a meeting with Russian President Vladimir Putin, at the Novo-Ogaryovo state residence outside Moscow, Russia June 16, 2020. Sputnik/Aleksey Nikolskyi/Kremlin via REUTERS

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The U.S. Treasury Department on Tuesday imposed sanctions on seven Russian government officials in response to Moscow's attempt to poison opposition leader Alexei Navalny with a nerve agent.

Among those blacklisted by the Treasury were Andrei Yarin, the chief of the Kremlin’s domestic policy directorate; Alexander Bortnikov, the Director of the Federal Security Service (FSB); and deputy ministers of defense Alexei Krivoruchko and Pavel Popov, among others, according to a statement.

(Reporting by Daphne Psaledakis and Arshad Mohammed; Editing by Chizu Nomiyama)

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In World

Two die in driverless Tesla incident – where are the regulators?
Return the favour: South Korea looks to U.S. for COVID-19 vaccine aid
UAE may impose virus curbs on unvaccinated people, official says
South Korea court dismisses 'comfort women' lawsuit, contradicts earlier ruling
Internet, the thorn in the side of Cuba’s one party state
Japan mulls state of emergency for Tokyo, Osaka as COVID-19 cases surge: media
Apple launches redesigned iMac desktop with colours and custom chip, priced from RM5,599
Australian state seeks to build onshore mRNA vaccine site
Oxygen supplies run low as India grapples with coronavirus "storm"
The climate pledges of the world's top emitters

Stories You'll Enjoy