Austrian borders with Czech Republic, Slovakia and Hungary to reopen June 15

  • World
  • Saturday, 16 May 2020

FILE PHOTO: A border sign is pictured near the location where medics check the temperatures of people coming from Italy due to the spreading of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) at the Brenner Pass border between Italy and Austria, March 10, 2020. REUTERS/Andreas Gebert

ZURICH (Reuters) - Austria's borders with the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Hungary will fully reopen on June 15, the interior ministry said on Saturday, extending an easing of border controls to its eastern neighbours previously agreed with many of its neighbours to the west.

The announcement follows a previously coordinated step to fully remove barriers on travel between Germany, Austria, Switzerland and Liechtenstein from June 15 onwards and ease restrictions on who is allowed transit in the meantime. Restrictions remain in place for transit from Italy.

"Our goal is to have as much freedom as possible and as few restrictions as necessary," the country's interior, foreign and Europe ministers said in a joint statement. "These easings create a bit more normality for people in the border region and make it easier for commuters to lead a smoother everyday life."

The European Union on Wednesday pushed to reopen internal borders and restart travel, but recommended Europe's external borders remain closed for most travel at least until mid-June.

(Reporting by Brenna Hughes Neghaiwi and Francois Murphy; Editing by Christina Fincher)

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


100% readers found this article insightful

Across The Star Online