Myanmar to grant visa-on-arrival to tourists from five countries next year

  • Myanmar
  • Tuesday, 24 Dec 2019

Foreign tourist shopping at a night market in Yangon. - ANN

YANGON: Myanmar's Hotel and Tourism Ministry on Tuesday (Dec 24) announced granting visa-on-arrivals to tourists from five countries starting from Jan 1 next year.

The relaxation will be effective to ordinary passport holders from Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Luxembourg and New Zealand, who will enter Myanmar through Yangon, Mandalay and Nay Pyi Taw international airports, for a three-year probation period until Dec 31, 2022.

Also, the agreement to grant up to 30 days of visa-exempted stay for Vietnamese tourists in Myanmar starting from Jan. 1, 2020 was reached during the official visit of Vietnamese Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc in Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar earlier this month.

From January to October this year, Myanmar received over 3.5 million tourists, showing an increase from over 2.8 million in the same period of last year, the ministry's figures showed.

“In the past, the test period of visa relations was only one year but now it has been extended to three years,” said U Than Win, director of the ministry.

The easing of visa regulations is aimed at reviving the tourism industry, which has been affected by international outrage over the humanitarian crisis in northern Rakhine State.

U Khin Aung Tun, vice chair of the Myanmar Tourism Federation, expressed hope the easing of the rules would attract more tourists.

“Although Myanmar does not get many visitors from these countries currently, the easing of visa rules for three years could create a tourism market,” he said.

Only about 2000 tourists came from New Zealand and Austria from as of October this year, and the number from New Zealand actually declined by 9% compared to the same period of last year, according to the ministry.

In October, Myanmar extended its visa-on-arrival programme to Germany, Russia, Spain, Italy, Switzerland and Australia.

Myanmar also has waived visa requirements for visitors from South Korea, Japan, Hong Kong and Macao and granted visas-on-arrival to Chinese travellers who arrive by air. The courtesy programme has been extended for another year.

Myanmar now grants visas-on-arrival to over 50 countries at its international airports in Yangon, Mandalay and Nay Pyi Taw, and allows foreign visitors a 28-day stay.

Tour operators said visitors from Western countries stay an average of 14 days. – Xinhua/Asian News Network

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Myanmar , Free Entry , Five Countries


Next In Regional

Thwarted – e-hailing driver's bid to smuggle illegal who misses her husband past a roadblock
Malayan Cement buys YTL's cement biz for RM5.16b
Fuel prices unchanged from May 13 to 19
US DOJ remits RM1.9bil in seized monies to Malaysia
Meet China’s elderly influencers cashing in on the Internet
TikTok begins testing in-app shopping to challenge Facebook
Nutrition expert wins award for nourishing millions worldwide with fish
A 1,100-year-old poem cost Meituan’s outspoken CEO US$2.5bil
Indian PM Modi to skip G7 meet in Britain due to COVID-19 crisis
Thai court grants bail to two protest leaders in jail for royal insults

Stories You'll Enjoy