DID issues notice of flood preparedness in seven states

KUALA LUMPUR: The Department of Irrigation and Drainage (DID) has issued a notice of preparedness in the event of floods involving several areas in seven states, namely Johor, Kelantan, Negri Sembilan, Pahang, Penang, Selangor, and Sarawak.

In a statement on Wednesday (Nov 23), the DID said that, based on rain forecast information alerts by the Malaysian Meteorological Department (MetMalaysia), Southeastern Asia-Oceania Flash Flood Guidance System (SAOFFGS) and the department flood forecast model, there is a risk of flash floods in some locations in the event that significant heavy rain or thunderstorms occur.

"Notice of preparedness has been issued to enable all residents, especially in the areas at risk, to be on alert in the event of flash floods during this period.

"Please obey the instructions of the authorities or flood disaster management agencies. Visit the website at https://publicinfobanjir.water.gov.my, Facebook @PublicInfoBanjir and Twitter @JPS_InfoBanjir for more information periodically,” read the statement.

In Johor, among the areas involved are the Batu Pahat district, namely Mukim Simpang Kanan, Mukim Sri Gading, Mukim Tanjung Sembrong, Kota Tinggi district (Mukim Pengerang, Mukim Sedili Besar, Mukim Ulu Sungai Johor), Mersing (Mukim Teriang), Muar (Bandar Panchor, Mukim Bukit Kepong) and Tangkak (Mukim Bukit Serampang, Mukim Grisek).

Meanwhile, in Kelantan, the areas involved are Kota Baru (Mukim Baung, Mukim Padang Bungor, Mukim Panchor, Mukim Pulau Panjang, and Mukim Tebing Tinggi), whereas in Negri Sembilan the areas involve Mukim Jimah as well as its surrounding areas.

In Pahang, the areas involved are Rompin (Mukim Endau, Mukim Pontian) and Temerloh (Pekan Kuala Kerau, Mukim Bangau, Mukim Jenderak, Mukim Kerdau, Mukim Lipat Kajang, Mukim Perak and Mukim Sanggang), whereas in Penang the areas are Seberang Perai Utara (Bandar Butterworth, Mukim 1 and Mukim 4).

In Selangor, the areas involved are Sepang (Pekan Tanjung Mas and Mukim Sepang), whereas, in Sarawak, it involves Miri Division (Kampung Pujut Tanjung Batu, Kampung Pujut Padang Kerbau, Kampung Pujut Adong, Bulatan Boulevard, Kampung Damai Jaya Senadin, Krokop, Jalan Jee Foh, Taman Gilbert, Kg Wireless, areas around Jalan Datuk Edward Jeli, Jalan Miri-Pujut and Jalan Miri-Piasau). - Bernama

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Floods: Number of evacuees in Johor drops to 2,564 as of 8pm
Sri Ram was always generous with his knowledge, says AG Idrus
Sembrong Umno to meet branch members to explain Hishammuddin's suspension
Domestic Trade Ministry to meet telcos over service quality, says Salahuddin
Anwar: I offered Nurul Izzah senior adviser post without allowance
Najib’s son offers to contest for deputy Umno Youth chief post
No invitation yet for sacked Umno leaders to join Pakatan, says Anwar
Sembrong Umno div stands by their chief, criticises Hisham's suspension
Four GRS MPs to remain direct members, not joining Hajiji in Gagasan Rakyat
Malaysian FM Zambry confident PM's visit will further strengthen Malaysia-Singapore ties

Others Also Read