Schools in Johor affected by floods set to reopen later

Clean and safe: A worker is seen sanitising common areas in Foon Yew High School Johor Baru as preparations for the reopening of schools. — THOMAS YONG/The Star

JOHOR BARU: Students from 36 out of a total of 1,190 schools in Johor would not be able to join their peers on the first day of school starting today following the flood situation in the state.

Johor education, information, heritage and culture committee chairman Mazlan Bujang said the 36 schools were either affected by floodwater or being used as temporary flood relief centres (PPS).

“A total of 28 schools, involving five secondary schools and 23 primary schools are being used as PPS.

“Meanwhile, eight schools have yet to recover from being partially submerged by the floodwater.

“These schools would remain closed temporarily until the flood situation in their respective areas have recovered,” he said.

Mazlan said this in a press conference after attending the closing ceremony of the Johor Traditional Games Festival at Savannah Hill Resort, Ulu Tiram, here yesterday.

He noted that a total of 10 schools were flooded in Johor but two have since recovered.

“Four of the schools that are still affected by the floods are in Tangkak, three in Segamat and one in Muar.

“On top of that, a total of 369 students and three teachers are still currently being placed at PPS centres after their homes were affected by floods,” he said.

As for other schools, Mazlan said preparations had been made and students would be able to return today.

“Students in schools not affected by floods would return to class as scheduled today.

“The (1,154) schools have made the necessary preparations for students to return to classes safely,” he added.

Last month, the Education Ministry announced that the third term of the 2021/2022 school session would begin today following a week-long postponement due to the floods.

The term was initially scheduled to start on Jan 2 for schools in Group A states and Jan 3 for those in Group B states and end on March 20 for both groups.

Group A refers to Johor, Kedah, Kelantan and Terengganu, while Group B comprises Selangor, Melaka, Negri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, and the Federal Territories of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan and Putrajaya.

Education Minister Datuk Dr Radzi Jidin said the term would start today for schools in Group A states while schools in Group B states would resume classes tomorrow.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Ray of hope for dutiful, stateless 10-year-old Pei Yee and her dad
Malaysia wants further discussion of amendments to International Health Regulations, says KJ
Under-21 Selangor football player dies after collapsing at eatery
MySejahtera's monkeypox notification feature to be activated on May 27
HFMD: 57,510 cases reported from January to May 25, says Khairy
PKR members unhappy with polls delays and glitches
Semporna cops nab 'star' of two viral videos for reckless behaviour
Non-Nepali security guards must fulfil stringent criteria, says Home Minister
Flash floods in three Perak districts receding
GRS launch timely and in line with Sabahans' aspirations, says state Bersatu info chief

Others Also Read