Unity key to reviving economy, says Juhar

The highest honour: Noorainee showing her appreciation after receiving the Panglima Darjah Kinabalu award from Juhar at Istana Sri Kinabalu in Kota Kinabalu. — Bernama

KOTA KINABALU: Sabahans should always support and work with the government to ensure the success of programmes drawn up to revive the economy that has been impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic, says the Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin.

“We must unite and continue to strive for the state’s economy to recover and for the lives of the people affected by the pandemic to return to normal,” he said in his speech during an investiture ceremony held in conjunction with his 68th birthday at Istana Seri Kinabalu here yesterday.

Juhar also called on the people to continue to maintain unity and peace in Sabah, which were the backbone of the state’s prosperity.

He also expressed his appreciation for the government’s concern in implementing various programmes and distributing aid to all those affected by the Covid-19 pandemic.

“The enforcing of the standard operating procedures under the National Recovery Plan and the ramping up of the immunisation programme are very much appreciated.

“Those who have yet to receive the Covid-19 vaccine should do so immediately,” he said.

At the ceremony, Puan Sri Noorainee Abdul Rahman, wife of former prime minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, headed the list of 33 recipients of state honours and awards.

Norainee was among the recipients of the Seri Panglima Darjah Kinabalu, the highest Sabah state award which carries the title ‘Datuk Seri Panglima’.

Other recipients were Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Mohammad Zuki Ali, former Sabah chief minister Tan Sri Chong Kah Kiat, Army chief Jen Tan Sri Zamrose Mohd Zain and former Sabah deputy chief minister Tan Sri Dr Yee Moh Chai.

Twenty-four people received the Panglima Gemilang Darjah Kinabalu award which carries the title ‘Datuk’.

Among them were Sabah Community Development and People’s Well-being Minister Shahelmy Yahya and appointed Sabah state assemblyman Suhaimi Nasir, Sabah Federal Secretary Datuk Dr Zulkapli Mohamed, Eastern Fleet Commander Vice Admiral Datuk Sabri Zali and Fifth Division Commander Mejar-Jen Datuk Mohd Halim Khalid.

Former Sabah state secretary Tan Sri Sukarti Wakiman were among the four people made Justices of the Peace. — Bernama

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Saravanan to iron out maid issues during Jakarta visit
King consents to RCI on Tabung Haji
Reps: No mention of polls
PM: All should accept SC’s findings
DBKL: Retailers given grace period to sell hard liquor
Living in the endemic phase
Most cases in Categories 1 and 2, says Health DG
Call to revisit Bill imposing heavier fines for Covid-19 offences
Sold out VTL-Land tickets put a damper on CNY plans
‘Ensure SOP is adhered to’

Others Also Read