114 MPs from Barisan Nasional, GPS and Perikatan parties called to the Palace tomorrow

PETALING JAYA: The 114 Members of Parliament who gave the name of Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob as their choice for the next Prime Minister have been called to the Istana Negara on Thursday for an audience with Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah, said sources.

“It is believed that the King will be verifying the contents of the statutory declarations sent to the King, naming their preferred candidate,” said the source.

This comes after the Istana Negara requested all MPs from all political parties to send statutory declarations stating their preferred choice of candidate for the ninth Prime Minister to the King before 4pm on Wednesday (Aug 18).

The MPs are from Barisan Nasional, Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia, PAS, Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) and Perikatan-friendly Independents.

The palace has requested the MPs to be present for an audience with the King at staggered times in five separate groups.

The first group of 24 MPs from GPS and Bersatu MPs from East Malaysia are scheduled to meet the King at 10am.

“Top on the list of this first group is Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof from GPS.

“The second group comprising of 25 MPs from Bersatu, Umno and three Independents will have the audience with the King at 11.10am.

“Former prime ministers Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and Datuk Seri Najib Razak are in the second group, along with Datuk Seri Azmin Ali, Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor and Khairy Jamaluddin.

“The third group will meet the King at 2pm and former deputy prime minister Ismail Sabri is in this group.

“This group has 25 MPs from Umno and Bersatu, including Umno president Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi and with Bersatu secretary-general Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin,” said the source.

“The fourth group will have an audience with the King at 3.10pm.

“MCA president Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong and MIC deputy president Datuk Seri M Saravanan along with Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein are among those in this fourth group.

“The fifth group is to meet the King at 4.20pm and comprises 18 MPs from PAS, led by PAS President Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang,” said the source.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Agong , Istana Negara , 114 , MP , Barisan Nasional , GPS , Perikatan ,


Next In Nation

Child falls to her death during family outing in Penang
Sabah-EU REDD+ project restores forests and raises community livelihood
Allowing only fully-vaccinated to vote in Melaka polls might be unconstitutional and illegal, says Pakatan
Dr Wee: I'm ready for debate with Guan Eng on Nov 2
Innovative face mask from Ranau students wins international competitions
Hisham: 181 Covid-19 SOPs condensed into one SOP with nine guidelines, awaiting approval
Undi18 not an election issue as youths have never been left out by govt, Sarawak Opposition told
Senior citizen found dead in her Simpang Renggam home
Parti Kuasa Rakyat will not join Melaka polls, but campaign for ruling coalition
Melaka Pakatan studying all legal avenues in bid to put a halt to state polls

Others Also Read