Confidence motion will never see light of day in Parliament, says Nazri

PETALING JAYA: There is no way a confidence motion would arise in the coming Parliament meeting, as government affairs will always take precedence first in Dewan Rakyat proceedings, says former de facto law minister Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz.

He said that this was according to the Parliamentary Standing Orders, which specifically stated that government affairs must be prioritised in Dewan Rakyat proceedings.

"Government business must take precedence and as we all know, government business would normally never finish.

"So there is no way for a confidence motion to arise," he said.

According to Standing Order 15(1), it states that government business will always take precedence over Private Members’ Bill on the Order Paper of any parliamentary meeting.

Relating to his experience as a former de facto law minister for nine years, Nazri said it has never been a precedent that a confidence motion, that would have to be tabled by an MP, would be debated in Parliament, due to a slew of government matters that must be debated.

"Being minister in charge of parliamentary affairs for nine years, my personal take on this matter is that we should never entertain such motions," he said when contacted on Friday (June 25).

Nazri explained that in order for a government to prove its majority, it can always be shown whenever a Bill is passed in Parliament.

"If the Bill passes, that means we have the majority and we have a good majority to govern."

Nazri was clarifying remarks he made to Sinar Harian on Friday (June 25), where he was quoted as saying that if there is any no confidence motion against the Prime Minister to be tabled in the coming Parliament meeting, then it would likely be only four Umno MPs - Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan, Datuk Ahmad Hazlan Yaakob and Tan Sri Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah - in support.

On June 16, the King had called for Parliament to be reconvene, after granting audiences to several party leaders over the previous week to deliberate the Covid-19 situation and the Emergency Proclamation that is due to expire this August.

A joint statement by all Barisan MPs recently declared that they would reject a no confidence motion if it were to be tabled in Parliament when it reconvenes.

Perikatan Nasional currently has a majority of 112 seats, with 31 from Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia, 18 from PAS, one independent (Lubok Antu MP), one from Sabah STAR, Parti Bersatu Sabah (one), GPS (18), and 42 MPs from Barisan, consisting of 38 from Umno, MCA (two), MIC (one), and one from PBRS.

It also has support of three MPs who left PKR to become independents - Julau MP Larry Sng, Tebrau MP Steven Choong and Kuala Langat MP Xavier Jayakumar.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Body of second drowning victim in Padas river found
Immigration nabs factory owner, 45 foreign nationals in raid
Sabah govt forms committee to handle, monitor flash floods, says Bung Moktar
Covid-19: Khairy urges pharmacists to guide Malaysians into endemic phase
Mosti aims for 5,000 employment opportunities in 2022
Over RM30bil in economic grants, subsidies discussed at Pakatan-Finance Ministry meeting ahead of Budget 2022
Covid-19: Almost 45% of eligible Orang Asli fully vaccinated, says Jakoa DG
Unfair to make seniors go for medical check-up before driving licence renewal, says group
Investigators seize luxury vehicles, RM50,000 cash in probe on three MACC officers, sources say
King and Queen visit Malaysian High Commission in UK

Stories You'll Enjoy