Governors lead FT honours list

PETALING JAYA: Five Cabinet ministers are among 335 recipients of awards, honours and medals in conjunction with the 2021 Federal Territory Day.

The list is led by Yang di-Pertua Negeri of Penang Tun Dr Abdul Rahman Abbas and Yang di-Pertua Negeri of Sabah Tun Juhar Mahiruddin.

They were conferred the Darjah Kebesaran Pangkat Pertama Seri Utama Mahkota Wilayah (SUMW), which comes with the title “Datuk Seri Utama”.

Other recipients of the award are the wife of Sarawak Yang di-Pertua Negeri, Toh Puan Datuk Patinggi Ragad Kurdi Taib; Yang di-Pertua Negeri of Melaka Tun Mohd Ali Rustam; Finance Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz and Pahang Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail.

Twenty-four other individuals were awarded the Darjah Kebesaran Pangkat Kedua Seri Mahkota Wilayah (SMW), which comes with the title “Datuk Seri”.

They include Energy and Natural Resources Minister Datuk Dr Shamsul Anuar Nasarah; Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Parliament and Law) Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan; Federal Territories Ministry secretary-general Datuk Rosida Jaafar; Public Service deputy director-general (development) Datuk Suhaime Mahbar; senior deputy secretary-general at the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Mohd Sallehhuddin Hassan and director-general of the Malaysian Administrative Modernisation and Management Planning Unit, Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Dr Yusof Ismail.

Honoured: (From left) Abdul Rahman, Juhar, Leong, Nardin, Ras Adiba, Cheah and Santhara.Honoured: (From left) Abdul Rahman, Juhar, Leong, Nardin, Ras Adiba, Cheah and Santhara.

Other recipients of the SMW award are Kuala Lumpur mayor Datuk Mahadi Che Ngah; Prime Minister’s senior political secretary Datuk Seri Mohd Nardin Awang, Mah Sing Group Bhd executive director Datuk Leong Yuet Mei as well as linguist and chairman of Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka board of governors Prof Datuk Dr Awang Sariyan. Bernama chairman Senator Ras Adiba Mohd Radzi is among 81 recipients of the Darjah Kebesaran Pangkat Ketiga Panglima Mahkota Wilayah (PMW), which carries the title “Datuk”.

The others include Senior Minister Dr Mohd Radzi Md Jidin; Housing and Local Government Minister Zuraida Kamaruddin; Federal Territory Mufti Dr Luqman Abdullah; Federal Territory Islamic Religious Department director Mohd Ajib Ismail; incumbent chair of the Institution of the Malay Rulers, Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) Prof Dr Shamrahayu Abdul Aziz; badminton players Abd Rashid Mohd Sidek @ Sulimin and Cheah Soon Kit; Malaysian Seven Continents Exploration Club president and a member of the Malaysian Mount Everest expedition team Muhamad Muqharabbin Mokhtarrudin, National Laureate Prof Dr Siti Zainon Ismail and script-writer and lyricist Habsah Hassan.

Other recipients include 49 who were conferred the Darjah Kebesaran Pangkat Keempat Johan Mahkota Wilayah (JMW); 76 individuals were conferred Darjah Kebesaran Pangkat Kelima Kesatria Mahkota Wilayah (KMW), Darjah Kebesaran Pangkat Keenam Ahli Mahkota Wilayah (31 recipients) and Darjah Kebesaran Pangkat Ketujuh Pingat Pangkuan Mahkota Wilayah (68).

This year’s recipients also witnessed 69 individuals from various ministries, agencies and organisations who were conferred award for their role in fighting the Covid-19 pandemic, including Deputy Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Dr Santhara Kumar, who is also a member of the Federal Territory Security Committee Crisis Management Centre, who was conferred the SMW award.

Health deputy director-general (research and technical support) Dr Hishamshah Mohd Ibrahim; Health deputy director-general (public health) Datuk Dr Chong Chee Kheong, Federal Territory Health director Dr Param Jeeth Singh and Sungai Besi Camp director-general of administration and logistics, Brigadier-General Ab Aziz Mohd Sharif were bestowed the PMW award.

Other recipients include Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory security director Azizah Mohamed Said; National Disaster Management Agency director of logistics Amaluddin Suib and Senior Assistant Commissioner of Police Izan Bakri, who were conferred the JMW award.

Federal Territories Minister Tan Sri Annuar Musa, when announcing the list of recipients at a press conference yesterday, said the date for the investiture ceremony was being finalised. — Bernama

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Nation

Cops arrest man, three sons for alleged sexual abuse of female relative
More items to be put on Hari Raya price control list if necessary, says minister
Woman nabbed for using forged RM100 note to buy clothes
Come to consensus first over ice supply issue, Ipoh mayor tells market traders
Three held for drug trafficking in Kuchai Lama
Klang Bersatu 'adopts' two bodyguards beaten by employer
CM announces Aidilftri aid for Sabah civil servants, too
PM: Enforcement authorities must work together to tackle indiscriminate price hikes
Sarawak kickstarts phase two of inoculation programme in Kuching, six other divisions today (April 23)
Blue hue: Pulau Sembilan's glowing 'tears' back to dazzle visitors - but island stays closed for now

Stories You'll Enjoy