Sabah polls to see many multi-cornered fights, but no Musa Aman

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 12 Sep 2020

KOTA KINABALU: Multi-cornered fights will be the order of the day after nominations for Sabah’s 16th state elections closed at 10am today (Sept 12).

Key leaders from both sides of the divide have filed their nominations papers in their respective constituencies and there was a no-show by former chief minister Tan Sri Musa Aman, who was widely speculated to be a wildcard candidate after being dropped by Umno.

READ ALSO: Key facts on the Sabah election

Former Dewan Rakyat speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin ended the guessing game surrounding when he filed his nomination papers for the new Pintasan seat in Kota Belud on an Usno ticket.

As expected, caretaker chief minister Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal filed his nominations to defend the Senallang seat, while Sabah Barisan chief Datuk Bung Moktar Radin filed his papers for Lamag, and Sabah Bersatu chief Datuk Hajiji Noor will defend his seat at Sulaman.

A nine-cornered fight will take place at Api-Api, where caretaker deputy chief minister Datuk Christina Liew will defend her seat.

PBS deputy president Datuk Yee Moh Chai, Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) president Datuk Chin Su Phing, Parti Cinta Sabah’s (PCS) Pang Yuk Min, PPRS’ Lo Yau Fou, PGRS’ Chong Tze Kiun, and Independents Marcel Jude, Sim Sie Hong and Ng Chun Sua will be up against Liew at Api-Api.

Parti Warisan Sabah’s Junz Wong is set to face an eight-cornered fight in Tanjung Aru against Umno’s Mohd Reduan Aklee, Yong Oui Fah (PBS), Shafie Riduan Shah (Usno), Noran Addy Sukiran (PCS), Ibrahim Mohd Laiman Diki (LDP), Rizawani Fiona Heng (PGRS) and Jan Chow (Independent).

Moyog will see a seven-cornered fight between Warisan’s Datuk Darrell Leiking, Nicholas Sampil @Willson (PCS), Joe Sulaiman (Sabah STAR), John Chryso (PBS), Wilson Loizon (PPRS), Marcel Annol (LDP), and Robert Richard Foo (Independent).

Meanwhile, Sulaman incumbent Datuk Hajiji Noor, who has held the seat since 1990, will be facing off against Warisan’s Datuk Aliasgar Basri and PCS’ Datuk Rekan Hussein.

Inanam will also see a nine-cornered fight, with PCS fielding its women chief Regina Lim who will be up against Datuk William Majimbun (PBS), LDP president Tan Sri Chong Kah Kiat, Peto Galim (PKR), former MCA state deputy chairman Datuk Francis Goh who is contesting on a PGRS ticket, and independents Kenny Chua, Achmad Noorasyrul Noortaip and Mohd Hardy Abdullah.

READ ALSO: Sabah Polls Nomination Day LiveBlog

Inanam became the talk of town recently after its incumbent assemblymen Chua defected to topple the Warisan Plus-led state government.

Chua, the former Sabah PKR vice chairman, told reporters at the nomination centre in Inanam that he was initially slated to contest under the PBS ticket.

“Negotiations didn’t go through and they didn’t honour their promise, so I am going in as an Independent, ” he said.

“I have to defend my seat. This is a fight to the end. My track record speaks for itself, I serve the rakyat, ” he said.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Nation

IGP to meet minister to explain transfer order
‘Big tent’ approach to get Parliament to reconvene
‘Audio clip will not destabilise Umno or BN’
Queen hails adaptive clothes for OKU, urges others to do their bit
KLIA cares for those with hidden disabilities
Sabahans recall royal visit
‘Come and see for yourselves’
Future’s bright for Langkawi, but uncertain for Bukit Malut
Selangor Royals complete their vaccination
‘The only available option’

Stories You'll Enjoy