New Election Commission chairman appointed

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 22 Aug 2020

PUTRAJAYA: Datuk Abdul Ghani Salleh (pic) has been appointed the new Election Commission (EC) chairman, while Datuk Nik Ali Mat Yunus has been made a member of the commission.

Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Mohd Zuki Ali announced that the appointment was effective yesterday.

Mohd Zuki said Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah had consented to the appointment of Abdul Ghani and Nik Ali, both 62, until they are 66, in line with Clause (3) Article 114 of the Federal Constitution.

“With their qualifications and experience, they will be able to fully carry out the trust and responsibility as chairman and member of the EC in accordance with the Federal Constitution, ” he said in a statement yesterday.

Before retiring as EC secretary on May 10,2018, Abdul Ghani had also served as the Kuala Langat district council chairman and Gombak district officer.

Meanwhile, Nik Ali held the post of Higher Education Ministry deputy secretary-general for development, before retiring on May 19,2018.

Mohd Zuki also thanked Datuk Azhar Azizan Harun and Datuk Seri Ramlan Ibrahim for their service as EC chairman and member, respectively.

Azhar was made Dewan Rakyat Speaker on July 13. — Bernama

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


100% readers found this article insightful

Across the site