Muhyiddin expected to return uncontested as Bersatu president

  • Nation
  • Thursday, 16 Jul 2020

PETALING JAYA: Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin (pic) is expected to return uncontested as Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia president, following the sacking of his challenger Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir.

Bersatu election committee chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar confirmed that Muhyiddin was now the sole candidate for the post.

He also confirmed there was no candidate for the chairman's post, as the sole contender, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad's membership had been terminated, too.

Pioneer Armada (youth wing) chief Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman was also unable to defend his post following the termination of his membership.

Others who lost their chance to contest due to membership termination include former Education Minister Dr Maszlee Malik and former Kedah executive councillor Datuk Amiruddin Hamzah.

Deputy Youth and Sports Minister, Senator Wan Ahmad Fayhsal Wan Ahmad Kamal is vying for the Youth chief post in a straight fight against Youth exco member Mohd Muzammil Ismail.

Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu was the sole contender in the deputy presidential race.

A total of 17 candidates are vying for the vice-president post.

Among them are Beluran MP Datuk Seri Dr Ronald Kiandee, Johor Bersatu chief Mazlan Bujang, Education Minister Radzi Jidin and Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Redzuan Yusof.

The party will see a four-cornered fight for the Srikandi (Wanita) chief post. The contestants are Women, Family and Community Development Minister Rina Harun, Datin Izza Ismail, Zuhuraina Makmur, and former Penang Puteri Umno chief Azlina Mehtab Mohd Ishaq.

A total of 163 candidates are contesting the 20 supreme council posts.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


56% readers found this article insightful

Across the site