Barisan Nasional retains Chini with 12,650-vote majority (Updated)

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 04 Jul 2020


PEKAN: Barisan Nasional's Mohd Sharim Md Zain has won the Chini state seat with a whopping 13,872 votes.

This is a 12,650-vote majority compared to the two independent candidates, 64-year-old businessman Tengku Datuk Zainul Hisham Tengku Hussin and blogger Mohd Shukri Mohd Ramli, 49.

The result of the by-election was announced by Returning Officer Datuk Zaliza Zulkipli at the vote-tallying centre at the National Youth Skills Institute (IKBN) here at 9.04 pm.

The by-election was held following the death of incumbent Datuk Seri Abu Bakar Harun, 60, at Kuala Lumpur Hospital due to a heart attack on May 7. Abu Bakar was Chini state assemblyman since the 11th General Election in 2004.

The Chini by-election is the 11th by-election after the 14th general election (GE14) and the first for the Perikatan Nasional government after taking over the country's administration from Pakatan Harapan in March.

The by-election is making history as the first election that takes place in the ‘new normal’ and involves various restrictions to avoid creating a ‘by-election cluster’.

Many new rules have to be followed, among them practising social distancing, the compulsory wearing of masks, as well as frequent hand-washing and temperature checks.

In GE14, Abu Bakar retained the Chini state seat with a majority of 4,622 votes, after securing 10,027 votes against PAS candidate Mohd Fadhil Noor Abdul Karim, who obtained 5,405 votes and PKR's Mohamad Razali Ithnain, with 1,065 votes.

Article type: free
User access status:

Did you find this article insightful?


65% readers found this article insightful

Across the site